Need help to build 3 hackintosh for audio/video use

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

First of all let me introduce myself, I am a french Audio engineer who lives in France, I work in Music studio's in Paris.

I am planning to build for my associate who is a beatmaker and I 3 different machines to work in our home studio.

The first one is to mainly use for protools le with a digidesign audio interface type MBox, and also some gaming and photoshop work. So it needs some good power a nice video card for gaming and video.

The second one is for my associate who mainly uses Logic Audio with lots of synths effects and plugins which uses lots of power. He also needs to make from time to time minor photo or video editing. So the config will be much like the first one maybe a lil bit more powerful with more ram. Also dual monitor and maybe a firewire audio interface.

Last but not least the third machine is for using with protools HD2 with 2 pci express card and one UAD 2 pci-e. The graphic card is not important because it si strictly for mixing music. We will go for real fast hd 7200 or 10000 rpm with lot of cache mem and I would like to have a system to quickly extract the disks(I am french so I don t know how do you call it in english). Concerning the pci slots is there a way to have more than 4 without another chassis.

Concerning the build I don't know wich mobo we will take I want lots of usb and firewire outs i don't know if having usb 3 is good because idk when it is going to be supported.

I have read good thing on the I7 875 i think we will go for it for the 3 machines.

Do you guys think it is powerful enough for our use?

I want something really strong for an intense use even if we oc them.

I wish to concentrate on those two main thing MOBO CPU for know maybe RAM too if it needs to be related to the cpu type. After having really defined those pieces I will go on concerning the graphic card HD cooler power supply.