[GUIDE] Toshiba Qosmio X305-Q701

lkelly2006

5 posts in this topic

This is a breakdown of my experience with installing OSX on my Toshiba:

Disclaimer: I do not take any responsibility or liability for any damage done to any systems or any credit for the creation of the kexts/software below. Please use this tutorial at your discretion as this is only for testing/learning purposes. I am not a professional but a simple user. Enjoy!

10.6.2:

SleepEnabler.kext.zip (although sleep does not currently work)

OVERHEATING I noticed that my CPU was running 160-180 Degrees F after updating to 10.6.2!! Very hot. I deleted AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext and AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient.kext and it is running about 20 degrees cooler. Will let you know if I notice anything else.

________________________________________________________________________________

Update 11/09/2009 - Located kext for 64bit Kernel Bluetooth Support!!!!

ToshibaBluetooth64.kext.zip

Update 11/06/2009 - Located kext for 64bit Kernel Atheros Wireless Support!!!! -IO80211Family.kext.zip

Update 11/06/2009 - Modified PS2 kext for 64bit 'tap to click' trackpad support!!!!-

ApplePS2Controller.kext.zip

Update 11/06/2009 - Modified kext for 64bit JMicron Card Reader Support!!!!-

VoodooSDHC.kext.zip

Distro: SnowOSX_Universal_10.6

Hardware-

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P7350(working)

GPU: Nvidia Geforce 9700M GTS(working)

Wireless: Atheros 802.11 b/g/n (working in 64/32bit)

Sound: ALC272(working 64/32bit)

Bluetooth v2(working in 64/32bit)

JMicron Card Reader(working in 64/32bit)

Step 1:

I have two separate hard drives so it was very simple to have duel OS. I have Windows 7 Ultimate on my primary HD and installed OSX on my secondary hard drive.

Installation:

The installation process went very smooth for me fortunately. I booted from my DVD using SnowOSX_Universal_10.6. I used Disk Utility to Format: Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Very quick format.