iPC 10.5.6 / iDeneb 10.5.6 in qemu under linux - No network (RTL8139)

moongoose

16 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to OSX and my goal is to install an instance of OSX in a virtual environment on my Linux host. I got myself iPC 10.5.6 and iDeneb 10.5.6 images and first of all failed to install them with both VirtualBox and vmWare.

However, the installation in qemu worked very well and the performance of the OSX guest system is excellent!

There is only one issue: The emulated network card (RTL8139) is not working. It is recognized by OSX (green icon in System Settings, Network Utitilty says Manufacturer Realtek Model 8139). I also tried every other virtual network device qemu provides, but they don't even get recognized.

Qemu provides a DHCP server and should get my OSX an IP Adress, but the DHCP request times out and OSX gets a Self-assigned IP which again results in no connectivity. Static IP configurations is not working either.

The network adapter seems to be up for just a very short time. I dumped all the traffic of the virtual network adapter to a file and analyzed it with wireshark: First, OSX sends a DHCP Request, qemu responds with a DHCP Ack. They negotiate to 10.0.2.15. However, after that, no more packets are transmitted in both directions and the negotiated IP address is not assigned to en0.

My command line for starting qemu is:

sudo qemu-system-x86_64 -vga std -net nic,model=rtl8139 -net user -m 1024 -hda ~/osxinstall/osx.disk

Now here comes the intersting part: When i launch qemu with qemu-system-i386, the network driver is working and I can access the Internet from commandline. But the system is terribly slow and practically unusable (which makes sense as there is no hardware acceleration).

Also, Safari crashes upon launching, which it doesnt when running in x86_64 mode.

I tried several AppleRTL8139Ethernet and PCGen kexts off the Internet and from your forums, but the problem remains the same.