Overclocking EVGA X58 SLI and i7 920 on OS X 10.5.7

ztjangle

1 post in this topic

Only days after my successful OSX86 installation on an EVGA X58 SLI motherboard, i gathered all my courage to venture into the overclocking realm. I am a newbie at this and I knew I could easily cause a lot of damage if not careful.

I asked ihavearedcouch whose installation guide I specifically followed to arrive at a successful installation of Leopard 10.5.7 on this great board.

He pointed to the following post which I studied and applied to an extent, but I thought it lacked detail and options:

http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/evga_x58_sli/8.htm

I also checked out this, rather extreme overclocking guide. Like the first one, it primarily dealt with overclocking through Windows and E-LEET aopplication that came with the board:

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=642527...page=1&key=

When I followed the initial guide my computer crashed during boot and I was getting nowhere, just poking around BIOS frequency page and changing values hoping to get a satisfactory result. It crashed over and over, so I finaly had to revert to a default, non overclocked setting. (later I discovered a post on page 25 of that same guide that made more sense...)

You know, that E-LEET in Windows isn't really useful for OS X people because its settings are not stored in BIOS. It can of course serve as a Windows tool, but if you overclock the system rather strongly in Windows and then write the E-LEET settngs down and put them manually into BIOS, chances are that Mac OS will crash with those same settings. I guess overclocking stresses the whole system differently for each OS.

Having painfully leared all that through my own experience, I set out to tweak parameters one by one slowly untill I arrive at something usefull.