Toshiba Satellite m55-s3293 osX86 installation

stjmb12

6 posts in this topic

I am having serious problems installing osx86 on my Toshiba Satellite M55-S3293 laptop. It gets through the install without a hitch but when it boots for the first time, it stays on a blue screen without a mouse icon or the rainbow wheel. I am using iDeneb 10.5.5

It is really annoying me because I really would like to use this old laptop for something and it is compatible as it says in the wiki. Can anyone help me with this as I am a complete noob when it comes to this.

Also to all who have put the hard work into this project and site, good on ya, we all cant afford apple's products and this is a great way to enjoy them.

it is strange, I have M60 and works fine.

did you instal some graphics driver?

try minimum install, dont use any graphics driver, dont forget the kext for your motherboard .

I have no idea what happened. what do I do with the kext? I am a bigtime noob when it comes to this stuff. I remember about a year ago I installed it on the same notebook and it booted up perfectly once and then never got it to work again. now everytime i try to install i get the bluescreen and thats all that ever comes up.

• 4 weeks later...

I have the same Toshiba M55-S3293 running smoothly here. It's a very cheap machine on ebay and runs OSX just fine. I based my install on this one here (http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.5.5/Portables#Satellite_m55-s3293), but in mine I guarantee the ethernet card's up.

My Install:

iDeneb v1.4 (10.5.6)

Fonts

X11

iDeneb essential

Audio--> AC97

chipset--> ICHx Fixed

Kernel--> 9.2.0 Sleep

Ethernet: AppleYukon2 --> http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/lofiversi...php/t89151.html

fixes--> cpus=1 & BatteryManager

video--> gma900

Throw these in, and ONLY these at install, and it will run fine.

Everything runs smooth, but the wifi must be unsecured. The iwi kext (drivers) isn't yet logging into secured wifis.