Booting/Installation... Many Issues

2 posts in this topic

i have 3 versions of OSX:

1. iDeneb 10.5.5
  2. Kalyway 10.5.1
  3. Kalyway 10.5.2

last year i installed Kaylway 10.5.1 with a fair amount of success. i got the OS installed and booted up. at the time there were no working ktexts for my nVidia 9600GT so i was stuck at 1024x768 and i had a hell of a time getting my Netgear 311 (something or other) wifi card to work. when i finally got my WiFi working i started playing with Ktexts for my Graphics Card and ended up having to reinstall because i screwed something up. after a reinstall i could never get the WiFi to work again, so i decided to give up until there was better support for my hardware.

fast forward to now, i downloaded iDeneb 10.5.5 and Kalyway 10.5.2 a few months ago, hoping to get everything working. i saw Kalyway's release in particular had better video driver support and wifi support all built into the installation.

i tried to install iDeneb first so i'd have the latest version of OSX. i burned the image to a disc using ImgBurn and recieved no errors while it verified the data. as soon as i tried to boot with the disc however, i recieved an error: Memory allocation error (0xdeadbeef, 0x0). i tried removing one dimm of ram but was unable to get past the error.

next i burned Kalyway 10.5.2 to a disc and verifed the data had burned correctly. i booted up with the disc no problem, the only difference i noticed during install was that my PS/2 keyboard was no longer natively working, i'm not sure if i need a USB keyboard for the latest Kalyway release? anyway after install, i attemped the first boot... i get to the grey screen with the apple logo and spinning icon. after a couple minutes of that, i get that default error about restarting your computer and it refuses to boot the OS. the particular error is the one that says: "You need to restart your computer. HOld down the Power for several seconds or press the Restart Button".