Building a desktop hackintosh - feedback appreciated!

4 posts in this topic

OK, so I have followed this thread closely, so I do feel the hardware below should be Hackintosh safe.

Both setups are maybe a bit overkill for my needs, but I have the money and I am a tech-geek so... I'm think about going for the i7-setup.

Quad-setup:

Antec NSK4480

Asus EN9600GT SILENT/HTDI/512M

Corsair TWIN2X DDR2-800 4096MB KIT (2x2048)

Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400

Samsung SH-S223Q SATA DVD

Samsung Spinpoint F1 1 TB SATA

i7-setup:

Antec Sonata III

Asus EN9600GT SILENT/HTDI/512M

Cooler Master V8 507,-

Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R

Intel Core i7 920

OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Platinum 6 GB (3 x 2 GB)

Samsung SH-S223Q SATA DVD

Samsung Spinpoint F1 1 TB SATA

A couple questions (apart from comments on the above):

1. The disk is thrown in by random here. I'm gonna check a little more, but:

I'm gonna dual boot Leopard + Ubuntu. Would the best to have two separate disks + maybe one common data storage?

2. I have read about some network troubles with the on board LAN. Is a separate network controller recommended?

All feedback appreciated! Thanks! (this is a great forum).

Erik

hey erik-

just built a hackintosh on q9400 and it is totally solid and compatible. ***note***I built it on vanilla kernel retail boot 132. samsung spinpoint f1 was my original hard drive so I'd also back that, but if you can get one like I couldn't then I submit to you a heavy buy reco for a seagate barracuda 7200.11 It is silent. re: the sata optical drive you have chosen. I also choose a samsung writemaster...it's quiet for read and write, playing dvds however, kinda loud.

my build put a reco to not use the native wi-fi hardware, and I don't really plan on using it anyway. If I do, I'll just buy a internal wi-fi card, no biggie. my onboard LAN is 100%