Kalyway boots, but iDeneb and iPC don't... Why?

rcg

4 posts in this topic

Hi, I've been using MacOSX on my PC for a few months. Here are the specs:

- Intel DG33BU ICH9 mobo

- IDE DVD drive as Master

- IDE hard disk as Slave with 2 HFS partitions, with MacOSX installed on the first one

- SATA hard disk with 2 NTFS partitions, with WinXP installed on the first one

- Realtek 8139 NIC (because by the time I installed MacOSX there were no drivers for the onboard Intel 82566DC NIC)

- nVidia GeForce 8500 GT (because there are no drivers for the onboard Intel GMA 3100)

- ALC888 onboard audio

- Kalyway 10.5.2 updated to 10.5.4

- WinXP bootloader with chain0 for dual-booting on MacOSX

These days I wanted to reinstall everything using iDeneb or iPC 10.5.6. Both installed ok. After booting, I got the Darwin bootloader screen which correctly listed my 2 HFS partitions on the IDE disk. But after selecting the MacOSX partition, I got the "still waiting for root device" error. It doesn't matter what boot parameters I use (-x, -rd=, etc.), I always get the same error. Even when disconnecting the SATA disk the problem occurs.

One thing I noticed is that during Kalyway's installation my IDE disk was displayed on Disk Utility as disk0 and the SATA disk as disk1. And during iPC's and iDeneb's installations the IDE was disk1 and the SATA was disk0. On Windows and Ubuntu the IDE is the first disk, just as on Kalyway.

Another thing I noticed is that Kalyway 10.5.2 uses "Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132", while iDeneb and iPC use "Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v1.0.11".

I googled a lot but didn't find an answer for my problem. Any ideas on what I can do? Is it a problem with the bootloader I use (chain0)? Should I use another bootloader (Chameleon, PC_EFI, EasyBCD)? In this case, why does my Kalyway installation work?

Thank you!

rcg