PCGenUli526xEthernet-1.0b1 Update! for ALi/ULi 5261 5263 / ALi 1567 onboard LAN

zidagar

5 posts in this topic

Here is version 1.0b1 of orByte's LAN driver for uli526x chips. I've personally tested it on the integrated ALi 1567 LAN, which is a 5263 chip on my ASRock motherboard 939DUAL-SATA2 running 10.5.4. The new driver no longer panics on startup, but lacks performance counters, which are yet to be implemented. Since I haven't found any serious problems with it yet, I'm posting the new driver and source code here for everyone to try.

I'm looking forward to your feedback!

PCGenUli526xEthernet_1.0b1.zip

• 2 weeks later...

I'm new to Mac OS X so I could use some help on this. I have the same motherboard as you but I am running OS X 10.4.8. So I installed PCGenUli526xEthernet_1.0b1 using kext helper (which ran the same commands in terminal I would have used to install the drivers by hand). I also installed the 10.4.7 version of iONetworkingfamily. I ran a repair on my permissions. Reboot and.. nothing, no internet or network connections. When going into the network menu in system preferences the built-in Ethernet is grayed out (it was before I installed anything as well). I'm probably doing something very dumb here and just don't see it. As I said I'm very new to this so any advice or troubleshooting steps would be very helpful.

Thanks!

• 1 month later...

I have installed the kext in my Kalyway 10.5.2 installation on an AsRock AM2XLI eSATA2 wich is similar to your motherboard but with AM2 socket and I'm not getting kernel panics. I don't use ethernet to connect to internet so I can't properly try it, but I have another computer running Win XP / ubuntu and I wonder if I can use it to see if ethernet works.

Thanks for your work

• 3 months later...
  • 2 years later...