Kernel Version 8.4.1 giving Kernel Trap, please assist

monty0501

16 posts in this topic

Hi,

Firstly, I would like to commend everyone in this forum, this is an amazing breakthrough!!!! You guys/gals rock!!!

Now, for my issue:S

I tried doing a search on this issue, and have had limited results...Im truly sorry if I am asking something that has already been resolved, but I cant seem to find it in the forum.

My situation:

Downloaded MaC.OsX.10.4.5.Universal.Install.DVD(INTEL:AMD:SSE3:SSE2).iso

Installed on a DVD-R using DVD-Decryptor

Installed on a second hard drive (not primary) which holds the only partition

Installed the optional patches that came with the iso for Intel installations

Now, when I try to boot from this drive, I recieve:

Unresolved Kernel Trap (CPU 0, Type 0 = Divide Error)

I also see the address: 0x0019C352

I also see Darwin Kernel Version 8.4.1: Tue Jan 3.... in an infinite loop after this.

I am very new to all of this, and am very interested in doing this, but I cannot get anywhere from this point.

I tried pressing F8 when the OS is loading (Loading Darwin/x86) but cant get past this.

I have SSE2

P4 2.66

1 GB Ram

Asus P4P800 MB

ATI Radeon 9550 (Sapphire)

Linksys Wireless B Card

Im not sure if anything else is needed.

I was reading something about .kext files, but I am not too sure how to change these, if this is teh problem.

Please assist, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Anyone have a solution for this? I am getting the same message!

I have similar hardware

P4 3.0GHz

1 GB Ram

Radeon 9600

I have tried replacing the vid card, turning off various things in bios.

Thanks!

-Brett

• 4 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Same problem here. What's the release that you tried that didn't have the SSE3 kernel? I'll snag it and give it a try.

Athlon 64 2800 (or something around there, one of those 64-bit socket 754 cpus, only SSE2 capable)

Asus K8V Se Deluxe