Extreme Noob to OSX86, help me sort throught this!

cmmcnamara

16 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I'm new to the OSX86 thing and I have done some reading on it but there is a lot of information to process and understand so I was wondering if some of you can help me understand some of it. First I want to ask about the proper method, I know what I want to do and have found threads but I can't begin to comprehend.

Basically I went and bought OS X from school, although I don't own a Mac because I've been wanting to do this with my PC. Not that I don't like Macs its just the price performance ratio that I have an interest in as a gamer. I have a 1TB hard drive right now with the first 600GB being used (not full just partitioned) between Windows Vista x64 and Fedora Core 9 Linux. The open 400GB is where I want to put the OS X installation as my third bootable OS. I read the couple of retail guides that were stickied but I don't really understand everything going on as a noob. To me it sounds almost like I have to download and boot into Kalyway to read the disk and install it from there, which if that is the way I must that's fine but I was hoping that wasn't the case. And in light of that as well, I know I can read .dmg's in Linux, so would there be a way to install from my Fedora partition?

Again thanks for any and all help and I look forward to taking advantage of my new Mac OS X (if I can't at least I have a cool looking $130 DVD! :) )

Can anyone help me at all?

Can anyone help me at all?

You are not getting help I guess because you are not providing enough detail on your system, e.g. MOBO brand and model, MOBO chipset, CPU spec, how much RAM etc.......also you seem to be asking for a easy way out.......with OSx86 it is "no pain no gain".......people will not do your research for you..... :)