Unstable 10.5.2 Kalyway - why?

(=Nemesis=)

2 posts in this topic

Hello. First, allow me to introduce myself. I am an English student, studying interactive media (3D modelling, websites, Flash, you get the idea) and since I'd resolved not to hand over a single penny to Microsoft at any time in my life, I'd decided to go with MacOS X. So after a few months of research, I decided that getting an iMac would cost far too much, and opted for setting up a Hackintosh.

I have a Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R, an Intel Core 2 Duo at 2.5GHz, an nVidia GeForce 8800GT with 512MB VRAM, 2GB of 800MHz RAM, and SATA drives, which the motherboard interfaces with using AHCI.

I've managed to install Kalyway 10.5.2, I'm pretty sure I'm using the vanilla kernel, and I got sound working (the cost being, I think, being unable to shutdown without actually pushing the button) and all 512MB of VRAM recognised, etc. In other words, you could say that I have a system that just works.

But fewer than 24 hours after confirming that everything runs smoothly (I tested out most of the applications, did a little customisation with CandyBar, played a Doctor Who DVD and listened to the Beatles, that sort of thing), things started to fall apart.

First, iCal stopped working. It suddenly decided that (some time after it had been tested) my architecture was not supported, and that iCal therefore couldn't run. I've since discovered that this sometimes happens on normal Macs, so I let that one slip and downloaded Sunbird instead.

Then, I resumed my viewing of Doctor Who with DVD Player. And, guess what? The DVD wouldn't play because DVD Player insisted that the DVD wasn't there. I couldn't quit/force quit the application, and I couldn't unmount the DVD because it was "in use". This wouldn't be too problematic, if I could get my DVD burner to eject the disk while booting up the computer. Now, for all I know, it's stuck there for all eternity.

So, here are my questions: