Leo4all v3 and XP, dual drives on ASUS P5E64 EVOLUTION

3 posts in this topic

Just wanted to let everyone know that I am dual booting with Win XP and 10.5.2, vanilla kernel 9.2.2 using Leo4all v3 on an ASUS P5E64 EVOLUTION motherboard. I am still testing, but network, and firewire are functional. I'm a noob by the way. I don't have time now, but I'll be back and post my install directions with BIOS setup, etc...

First my Build in an Antec Nine Hundred Case, everything from Newegg except for the Q9550:

Obviously you can go a lot cheaper then this, but I am creating an audio recording DAW so I need the power and speed. First I installed XP service pack 3 on a 640GB HDD. I also have an additional 640Gb and 320GB in NTFS format. I tried first to install Kalyway 10.5.2 to the external hard drive through USB and it worked...I then went to Leo4all v3 because it was more straightforward when choosing kernals and drivers. I chose a 160GB HDD and first used my Macbook to format it to MAS OS Journaled with MBR option. For some reason I could not choose a FAT32 option through XP.

1.) Obtained Leo4all v3 distro

2.) Burned ISO with DVD decrypter at lowest speed

3.) Started with almost all selections in BIOS (version 0506 ASUS) disabled, because I was having trouble booting from DVD

4.) SATA configuration set to AHCI

4.) Set boot priority to CD drive (LG SATA model above)

5.) Used F8 to select boot from CD (even though boot priority was set to CD, I still used F8 because it shows all my options)

6.) Darwin booted up fine, takes awhile to load, use -v boot option to note errors. I did not have any errors except for firewire since I disabled that in the BIOS menu

7.) When install screen came up I only saw the 160GB HDD as an option. I reformated to MAC OS Journaled and MBR option through disk utility just to make sure after my Kalyway install to cover everything