Kalyway 10.5.2 default password?

kurt6

5 posts in this topic

Hi everybody,

after a long search in this forum I could not find a solution to my problem, hence the new topic. Problem in short: Successfully installed Kalyway 10.5.2 on my PC and it boots up fine but no LAN of course (nVidia 500 chipset). Now when I try to do this sudo thingy (to install forcedeth drivers) it asks for a password. The thing is I haven't set any password upon installation. I only set my user name but left the password field empty. I even tried to change the password under my account but is asks for a old password which I don't have...any ideas for a workaround? I'm pretty new in this hackintosh so any help is welcome. Thank you guys in advance.

Hi everybody,

after a long search in this forum I could not find a solution to my problem, hence the new topic. Problem in short: Successfully installed Kalyway 10.5.2 on my PC and it boots up fine but no LAN of course (nVidia 500 chipset). Now when I try to do this sudo thingy (to install forcedeth drivers) it asks for a password. The thing is I haven't set any password upon installation. I only set my user name but left the password field empty. I even tried to change the password under my account but is asks for a old password which I don't have...any ideas for a workaround? I'm pretty new in this hackintosh so any help is welcome. Thank you guys in advance.

Hi Kurt6,

You can activate the root user by running the directory utility in /Applications/Utilities/Directory Utility.app

Menu "Edit" >> "activate root user" (to see this menu item you might first click on the lock)

Hope this helps

Chris

Hi Chris,