Error loading booter X

17 posts in this topic

hello,

I have a triple boot so far (hoping for a quad boot) with xp, vista, ubuntu, and os x 10.5.2 kalyway (which is the one i want to get workign).

I have vista bootloader showing the XP, VISta and Ubuntu, and I would like to have ubuntu show OS X in grub.

I am using EasyBCD for the XP, Vista and Ubuntu, but I cant use OS X with EASyBCD so I am tryign the grub way.

I have tried some ways that people have said such as

title MacOSX

root (hd0,1)

makeactive

chainloader --force +1

and

title MacOSX

root (hd0,1)

chainloader +1

i changed the root to match mine. They give me an error saying "error loading booterX"

Anyone have this problem?

i'm a noob to linux, but how do I copy the pc_efi file to /boot?Nevermind. found out by typing this into terminal. "gksudo nautilus" this enabled the drag and drop just like windows.

EDIT:

allright maybe someone can help me out here.After I added the pc_efi file to /boot, I am now getting a " ERROR 17: CANNOT MOUNT PARTITION SELECTED"

allright maybe someone can help me out here.After I added the pc_efi file to /boot, I am now getting a " ERROR 17: CANNOT MOUNT PARTITION SELECTED"

Error 17 means grub can't read the partition in the root command.

Make sure your root(hd?,?) line matches the Linux entry in menu.lst NOT the OS X partition.

Grub cannot read hfs+ or ntfs.

If you can't figure it out, post your menu.lst

Holly {censored}!!!!!

IT LOADED! I am soooooo excited.

It took me 3 days searching high and low, until you came and helped me out WMARSH!

Thank you sooooooooo much! :):D :D :D :D

I had to enter the 80 before it booted and then had to select the osx partition.

I read in your other thread that I can change it around so that it automatically boots. I will try it and see. If i have any questions I know who to go to now.

question...

Can I skip the How Do I connect part and the Registration information or should I fill both of those out

Edit: