Building first computer - Hackintosh

7 posts in this topic

Hey everyone! I am very very new at building machines, but I'm dying to have a hackintosh. My budget is low about $600. (i know cheap)

here are the components I have selected now:

MOBO- ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard -----$179.99

CPU- Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 --------------------------$209.99

GRAPHICS- EVGA GeForce 8600 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / SLI Ready -------------------$89.99

RAM- OCZ SLI-Ready Dual Channel 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz 2x2gb----------$80.00

CASE- Cool Master 500 watt p/s----------------------------------------------------------$80

HARD DRIVE- I have a 250gb already.

After various rebates, etc this all adds up to about $618, which is just in my price range.

My question is ^^^ WILL THESE WORK?? ^^^ I would like to have the easiest possible installation. if there is a mobo that is more compatible with less patching, let me know pls. this system will be used for FCP and video editing.

Thanks very much!! :)

I'm totally no expert (only hackintoshed my own computer). But from what I understand, OSX can be installed on pretty much any current system. The only thing that you really need to worry about getting to work is the video card, the NIC, and the audio. And you can search around these forums to find out if the ones you will be using works on the hackintosh.

Thank you guys. but I now have the question of: am I choosing right components with the most bang for the buck? This system is going to be for video editing, so RAM is key. 4 gb's is plenty in my opinion. ..... what about the Graphics?? thats where I am unsure. Also, the MOBO, are there any other better motherboards for the same or cheaper price.

Thanks again!!