DV9620US ATI - Hard drive not showing up in install

rohit507

6 posts in this topic

I'm trying to install Kalyway to hp pavilion and can't see the hard drive. It's not in disk util and it's not seen in the installer. I'm at a loss as to what to do and also because i'm a hackintosh noob.

THanks Much :)

Edit: well this is interesting LEO4All shows no drives not even the dvd it's on unlike kalyway. Thanks for all the help in advance :)

Edit 2: the vista and ubuntu install disks i have are both showing the drives. hmmm

Edit 3: nothing iv'e tried re formatting the drives to unallocated space and fat 32 still nothing.

Edit 4: I would like to get this installed by end of dat tommorow so i can set it up as my development pc (macs are awesome dev pcs but my ibook and macmini are all ppc and slow as :(

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product...amp;dlc=en&

That is the link to the dv9620us site if you need it

So it seems we are dealing with a sata hd

what do you guys reccomend as the best course of action?

are there any patches i can apply to kalyway? or something?

i really like Kaly way (from the descriptions) over leo4all so i would like to stay with that if possible.

Edit: I cant find ANYTHING on SATA and kalyway with google or the wiki .. is is not possible or something?

Edit 2: Can i do something like with my leopard install on my mac with a broken cd drive? the procedure for that follows

1. boot mac off usb drive (thank god for command O F on PPC macs)

2. partition mac's primary drive into one 6 gig and one left over portion

3. flash install dvd onto 6 gig partition

4. boof off of 6 gig partition and install OS 10.5 on the other partition

5. boot into other partition and erase 6 gig partition.

6. leave 6 gig partition for data storage

• 3 weeks later...