Need assistance with new install

Torein

2 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm new to the Mac in general and wanted to try things out before I decide whether to save up for a real one. I bought new PC parts and installed Kalyway_10.5.2_DVD_Intel_Amd on the new system. The first issue I ran into had to do with my video card that was failed, so I took that out and am now running off the onboard vga.

I know my way around the inside of a computer and am knowledgable in windows xp but have limited experience in vista and almost no experience with the mac os. I've also dabbled in a ubuntu linux distribution but stopped after the comptuer that I was dual booting it on broke.

Summary:

Kalyway 10.5.2 formatted and installed without a hitch. I used this guide to install, "http://lifehacker.com/348653/install-os-x-on-your-hackintosh-pc-no-hacking-required". I was able to boot up Mac OS but the first noticible thing was there was no network capability. It recognizes the card but is unable to connect to the network. I tested the audio and it works but not out of the front audio port.

So here is my hardware:

GIGABYTE GA-G31M-S2L LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Western Digital 500GB Hard Drive (SATA)

SAMSUNG Black DVD±R DVD Burner (SATA)

XFX PVT84JUDD3 GeForce 8600GT XXX 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI

(Video Card not installed at the moment because it was DOA, just sent it back to newegg for a replacement today)

Here are my issues:

USB thumb drive not recognized by Mac -**FIXED** Just had to have it placed in USB prior to booting system.

Onboard ethernet not working **FIXED**

Heres how:

System Preferences

Network

Advanced

Ethernet

Configured: Manually

Speed: 100baseTX

Duplex: half-duplex

MTU: Standard (1500)

Front audio port not working