First timer, no luck - any hope for AMD users?

1 post in this topic

I've been messing with computers for about 20 years and always avoided Macs due to the hardware cost. Lately I've been thinking about getting into this Hackintosh thing. Today I tried to figure it out. About 12 hours later, I've got nothing.

Here's the machine:

(I apologize for any different colors or links, I'm pasting from my Newegg order history and the editor doesn't seem to let me reset colors or remove links...)

Gigabyte GA-M61PM-S2 (onboard nic is RTL8211)

Athlon X2 4000+ (Brisbane, 2.1GHz)

EVGA 256-P2-N740-LR GeForce 8500GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16

2GB of RAM, 500GB SATA drive

If it matters I have a 300GB PATA drive and a Sony DVD burner on the PATA channels. The 500GB SATA is the boot drive.

My initial reaction is, I'm very surprised that the OSX installer runs without any problems whatsoever (i.e. loading Darwin, what seems to be the OSX GUI, and I can drag stuff around and use the menus etc.) but once it's installed it will not boot for the life of me.

I tried to use the Kalyway 10.5.2 and also the Zepyroth 10.5.2 and I'm getting nowhere. The Zepyroth will install and then never boot (alternately giving me just a blinking cursor, or "Error loading operating system"). The Kalyway will install and then try to boot, eventually it gets to a point (using -v) where it stops at "AppleNForceATA: Found 0 units." Strangely it finds 2 first, then 1, then 0 - about six times.

On the Kalyway installer (which I used first and then tried to go back to at Zepyroth failed), I installed it first without customizing the install. The only thing that selecting (what I think are the right) options in Customize does is, the bootup messages contain hundreds of additional errors. Something about it's not creating a crash log because too many crashes are happening. It says this about 400 times and always increases the PID number by one.