help wireless FAST! Got Network Card to Turn ON!

kodak77

72 posts in this topic

i have the netgear WG511T network card...im a newbie and this mac osx dual booting stuff...i got eveyrhting to work properly..Now all i need is to activate my network card..can any1 help me with that?

i also found this orangeware wireless driver or something that was supposed to work for netgear cards for mac or something but idk..can any1 help me with this so that it works?

Edited by kodak77

bump..wat am i supposed to do with the kexts and was i supposed to install the wireless patch that came with 10.4.7 and the wiki didnt help since i know this card will work but idk HOW to make it work..I am a noob at all this stuff so please help me out

the kexts go in /System/Library/Extensions. After you replace, use /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility to repair permissions on the disk. Delete /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache and /System/Library/Extensions.mkext and restart your computer for changes to kexts to take effect. simply replacing the kexts isn't sufficient.

this is general kext advice, i have no experience with WG511T nor knowledge or whether the solution you are attempting will work

i dont get it...wth wont this ****ing thing work

i did everything replace kexts and deleted stuff, repaired permissions etc etc

i need some one who has this card and tell me step by step instructions

Edited by kodak77

i dont get it...wth wont this ****ing thing work

i did everything replace kexts and deleted stuff, repaired permissions etc etc

i need some one who has this card and tell me step by step instructions

Dude, if you are going to get this easily upset and frustrated just buy a real mac -then everything will always "just work." OSx86 is running on hardware it wasn't EVER supposed to use, you can't expect {censored} to just work.

So... you might need to edit the plist.

For people to help you we need:

a ) the version & distribution of os X you installed

b ) you hardware model