Jump to content

Dell Inspiron 5150 iAtkos S3 v2 'Still waiting for root device'


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#41
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Any thoughts, anyone? I've now tried all the kernels included with Chameleon. Some reboot the computer, some kernel panic with ElliottForceLegacyRTC, but none work. I've changed around drivers, temporarily removed Extensions.mkext from /Extras...

I'm at a bit of a loose end...

:help: please!

Alistair

#42
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
I'm in the process of attempting to patch my RTC in my DSDT. If this doesn't work I can always try the Tonycopypastex86 method I suppose :)

#43
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
No KPs to do with RTC now. Hooray! Not all good news though. Now, I have a panic to do with AppleACPIPlatform:


Posted Image


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#44
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Add this folder to Extra and try booting again,

Attached File  modules.zip   28.14KB   5 downloads

#45
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
With boot flags -v -f, I get this:

Posted Image

I'm running Chameleon 2.2, so surely there's no need for an update (if there is one)? Is there any way to force a clock speed if it can't find it itself? do I need to do something with NullCPUPowerManagement?

#46
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
What kernel are you using?

#47
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
The 'mach_kernel'. With the legacy kernel and boot flags -v -f I get the same thing.

#48
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Try with this kernel,

Attached File  mach_kernel.zip   5.39MB   2 downloads

Boot with the following,

mach_kernel arch=i386 -force64 cpus=1 -f -v

#49
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Black screen again. :hammer:

Thanks for the help.

#50
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Add busratio=17

#51
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Another black screen.

#52
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Try removing your Graphics card to see if it is the cause of this.

#53
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
It's a laptop with no onboard graphics... I could, but then I wouldn't be able to see the screen... :)

#54
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

It's a laptop with no onboard graphics... I could, but then I wouldn't be able to see the screen... :)


You may need to get another card that is compatible with Snow Leopard. From what I found your card working in Leopard.

You can try this boot file. I added a device property for your card but I can't promise it will work.

Attached File  org.chameleon.Boot.plist.zip   757bytes   2 downloads

#55
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
No, that doesn't seem to work either. It's time to splash the cash then... sigh.

Before, I booted just after I'd restored to the USB drive and it loaded the installer fully, GUI and everything, without finding the hard drive... was that a complete fluke? Just wanting to make sure if I am going to have to buy a whole new graphics card in order to make this work.

#56
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Restored the install image with just bootloader and kernel on? If it worked like that then add the modules folder I sent you to Extra and boot again :)

#57
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Okay... will try now :)

#58
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
I've tried the Chameleon .pkg installer 3 times now and it seems to think I have a Windows partition on the disk, even though the disk has only one partition formatted HFS+. Is there a reason / workaround for this?

#59
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
Try to reformat it with the setup.

#60
alibabzo

alibabzo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
I formatted the USB drive NTFS, then restored the disk image. This converted it into an HFS+ filesystem I think. Next, I ran the Chameleon 2.1 r2064 .pkg installer, and this is what I get in the installer log:

Chameleon installer log - Sun Dec 23 14:36:20 GMT 2012
Installer version: 2.1svn 2064
======================================================
/dev/disk0
   #:					   TYPE NAME				    SIZE	   IDENTIFIER
   0:	  GUID_partition_scheme					    *161.1 GB   disk0
   1:					    EFI						 209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:				  Apple_HFS Macintosh			   160.2 GB   disk0s2
   3:				 Apple_Boot Recovery HD			 650.0 MB   disk0s3
/dev/disk1
   #:					   TYPE NAME				    SIZE	   IDENTIFIER
   0:						    iATKOS S3 version 2    *8.0 GB	 disk1
======================================================
Backing up Chameleon files
Backing up /Volumes/iATKOS S3 version 2 1/Extra folder to /Volumes/iATKOS S3 version 2 1/Chameleon.Backups/2012-12-23-14h36/Extra
======================================================
Renaming existing com.apple.Boot.plist to org.chameleon.Boot.plist
Clearing options...
======================================================
Running Standard postinstall script
Target volume = /Volumes/iATKOS S3 version 2 1 on /dev/disk1
NOTE: Target has existing unrecognised bootcode in the MBR. Leaving as is.
Detected a Windows installation on this volume.
======================================================
Stage 0 loader not written to /dev/di.
Written boot1h to /dev/rdisk1.
Written boot to /Volumes/iATKOS S3 version 2 1 on /dev/disk1.
======================================================
Preparing to check target disk for previous installations.
Going to check the EFI system partition also.
Checking di.
Nothing found that could cause any problems.
======================================================

Windows is installed so that can remain the active partition
======================================================
Standard script complete
======================================================
======================================================
Running Post postinstall script
Target volume = /Volumes/iATKOS S3 version 2 1
===============================================
Unmount all volumes named EFI
======================================================
Post postinstall script complete


I completely wiped it of everything... how come it thinks I have a Windows install? This worked correctly straight away last time :unsure:





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy