Jump to content

Disadvantages of CPUS=1


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing
Hi,
My installation is 10.6.8 and works perfectly on all aspects by using cpus=1.But little bit slow just a slight change only.So what are all the disadvantages when we use CPUS=1.Will it be slow when doing multitasking ?
Thanks

#2
cili0

cili0

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
CPUS=1 means that you're forcing the system to use only one core out of all the cores your processor is provided. So yes, the system will be slower if compared to what your processor could actually do.

#3
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing

CPUS=1 means that you're forcing the system to use only one core out of all the cores your processor is provided. So yes, the system will be slower if compared to what your processor could actually do.

I see so obviously if i use final cut it will lag or terribly slow.

#4
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >
@ mediamac

You can try booting with all cores together with the bootflag maxmem=2048 or 3072 or 3456. Also see my nForce OS X Snow Leopard install guide on which AppleNForceATA.kext to try/use.......

#5
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing

@ mediamac

You can try booting with all cores together with the bootflag maxmem=2048 or 3072 or 3456. Also see my nForce OS X Snow Leopard install guide on which AppleNForceATA.kext to try/use.......

Thats right but when you use maxmem=2048 will it not suppress the RAM ? just for clarification

#6
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >
@ mediamac

Booting with maxmem=2048 restricts OS X to using only 2GB RAM of the RAM you have installed, while maxmem=3072 restricts OS X to using only 3GB RAM of the RAM you have installed, and so on, but it will enable you to use all CPU cores with multi-thread/core-aware software.

You could also boot with cpus=1 maxmem=2048 at the Chameleon boot: prompt when you want to do any heavy Firewire//USB/SATA/PATA data transfers........then after the data transfer is complete, you can reboot as normal with 4 cores to do the CPU-intensive audio/video work on the transferred audio/video data files........this approach used to work for me when using OS X Leopard.....

#7
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing
So is there any kext (applenforce.kext like ) replacement which solves this issue of restriciting because if i install 8GB ram then 70% will be wasted and likewise for 6 core cpu.
Thanks again

#8
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >
@ mediamac

It is all explained in my nForce OS X Lion and OS X Snow Leopard guides, where you can also download both the AppleNForceATA.kext by slashack and AnV's variant of it for 32bit booting, and also imk's derivative of it for 64bit booting of OS X Lion and OS X Mountain Lion.....these kexts overcome the 3GB RAM limit of MeDevil's original AppleNForceATA.kext.....

I am running 6GB RAM on my nForce 650i with 4 cores using imk's AppleNForceATA.kext on OS X Snow Leopard, OS X Lion, and OS X Mountain Lion in 64bit mode, and AnV's variant of slashack's AppleNForceATA.kext on OS X Snow Leopard in 32bit mode....... :)

#9
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing
Ok i will refer you guide there.Thanks a lot.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy