10.7.4 update killed my Acer inspire 4315 [noob alert]

confucious

6 posts in this topic

Hi

Having spent the past 25 years working with Dos/Windows I've never used a Mac but having got the iOS Hackers handbook it appears i now need one, so I bought a ready made Hackintosh which was running 10.7.2 (iAtkos and chameleon BL).

Like an idiot i did a software update to 10.74 - or thought I did, but now my computer wont boot normally.

With the verbose boot it runs through until I get a black screen with white block cursor in the to left then every few seconds it flashes up "com.apple.launchd 1 com.apple.coreservices.appleid.authentication xxxx Exit timeout elapsed (20 seconds) killing"

Where xxxx is a 4 digit number that varies each time before going to the black screen with cursor again and repeating with a different number.

It will boot into safe mode but it is still showing as 10.7.2

Bearing in mind that I am a complete noob with Macs does anyone have any idea how I can go about repairing the damage I have done?

Many thanks

conf

The problem with picking up an existing Hackintosh is that you don't really know what has been done to it OS-wise before you got it. What is Chameleon-BL?

Anyway, during the installation of iAtkos, the previous user could have selected a number of customizations that got damaged or wiped out with the failed upgrade attempt. Also, to solve other problems, the previous user might have added other customizations not provided by the iAtkos install DVD. You are upgrading blind and you might and possibly did break things. Fortunately, most of those things can be fixed after the install.

It sounds like you had a failed upgrade attempt. If the listed OS is 10.7.2 and you were upgrading to 10.7.4, then something went very wrong.

You might have to do a complete reinstall. But before that, you have nothing to lose by trying a few things.