Jump to content

OS X 10.7 (Lion) install on Dell Optiplex 745


  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#21
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
Hi carrick, thanks for your report. Would you please post the online-shop (or model page) link to the exact ATI 5450 you purchased? I have made the exp. several times in the past that a 1234 w. xyzMB from e.g. MSI would fully work in OS X, and the "same" from PNY etc. not ....

re. Ethernet: search here in the forum for how to correctly unload kexts BEFORE sleep, then REload them on wake-up. Might work, worth a try. Might also be something that can be tweaked in the DSDT, but I don't know details.

re. iCloud etc.: have you tried the iCloud fixes that are floating around? Wasn't there even an iCloud fix offered in iAtkos L2 (even though I don't see it in the screenshot above)?

My 745 SFF is a bit pending right now so I don't have it in my sig yet .. After getting the grfx card I need to see if it even needs a new mobo .. worth it I guess 'cause it's running with a Core 2 Quad.

#22
carrick

carrick

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Thanks for your suggestion. I have both similar configure SFF and DFF 745........but I use SFF for hackingtosh

Here is the link for graphic card. It is not a powerful one, but serves my purpose.

http://www.amazon.co...s00_i00_details

I will follow the clues you siad to fix the other two problems.


Hi carrick, thanks for your report. Would you please post the online-shop (or model page) link to the exact ATI 5450 you purchased? I have made the exp. several times in the past that a 1234 w. xyzMB from e.g. MSI would fully work in OS X, and the "same" from PNY etc. not ....

re. Ethernet: search here in the forum for how to correctly unload kexts BEFORE sleep, then REload them on wake-up. Might work, worth a try. Might also be something that can be tweaked in the DSDT, but I don't know details.

re. iCloud etc.: have you tried the iCloud fixes that are floating around? Wasn't there even an iCloud fix offered in iAtkos L2 (even though I don't see it in the screenshot above)?

My 745 SFF is a bit pending right now so I don't have it in my sig yet .. After getting the grfx card I need to see if it even needs a new mobo .. worth it I guess 'cause it's running with a Core 2 Quad.



#23
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
great thank you, ordered :) Price after rebate: $14.99, yippie

PS: look for SleepWatcher here on the forum (from bernhard-baehr.de). Don't know if it still works in Lion.

#24
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
real quick cause I gotta drive to a job: forget SleepWatcher - the NIC gets deactivated on BIOS level, and not (always) correctly reactivated on wake-up. This needs to be tackled in the DSDT. I ran all compilable patches in DSDT patcher, that didn't solve this. Google for something like "DSDT BCM5722D.kext sleep" or "DSDT wake up lan after sleep" or "DSDT wake up nic after sleep". I am totally sure this has been solved yet, just a matter of looking.

grfx card: oops, I must not have followed your link (256MB version) directly 'cause I ordered the 1GB version .. just $10 more after mail-in rebate .. works good res. + QE/CI - just tested on VGA so far. The only odd thing is that I need to press a keyboard key TWICE for OS X to wake up, the second key about 5 seconds after hitting the first key - otherwise it goes back to sleep, hmmm. Doesn't matter if the ATI5000injector kext is in E/E or S/L/E. Adding Eulemur as ATIConfig string doesn't help, either. That oddness did not change in 10.7.3 (and neither did the NIC-in-BIOS reactivate as expected).

Does your 256MB version wake up right away from sleep with *one* keyboard stroke?

#25
carrick

carrick

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Great. As long as it works for you.you have better performence with 1GB.

Yes. I have the same syptom as yours.I have to hit keyboard several times, and eventually it wakes up...... I turn it off most of the time..

I tried several way to fix the internet problem including yours, so far no success. I just start to do hackingtosh and haven't started to mess with DTST (a lot home work to me).



real quick cause I gotta drive to a job: forget SleepWatcher - the NIC gets deactivated on BIOS level, and not (always) correctly reactivated on wake-up. This needs to be tackled in the DSDT. I ran all compilable patches in DSDT patcher, that didn't solve this. Google for something like "DSDT BCM5722D.kext sleep" or "DSDT wake up lan after sleep" or "DSDT wake up nic after sleep". I am totally sure this has been solved yet, just a matter of looking.

grfx card: oops, I must not have followed your link (256MB version) directly 'cause I ordered the 1GB version .. just $10 more after mail-in rebate .. works good res. + QE/CI - just tested on VGA so far. The only odd thing is that I need to press a keyboard key TWICE for OS X to wake up, the second key about 5 seconds after hitting the first key - otherwise it goes back to sleep, hmmm. Doesn't matter if the ATI5000injector kext is in E/E or S/L/E. Adding Eulemur as ATIConfig string doesn't help, either. That oddness did not change in 10.7.3 (and neither did the NIC-in-BIOS reactivate as expected).

Does your 256MB version wake up right away from sleep with *one* keyboard stroke?



#26
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
@BugsB, carrick

I don't have the NIC wakeup problem on the 745 (and I use no DSDT). Can you describe the issue in detail?
Did you follow this guide step by step?

#27
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
@ client00: *sometimes*, in Lion 10.7.2/ 10.7.3: after wake-up from sleep: no Ethernet. When looking into Sys Prefs/ Network: "Cable unplugged". When looking into BIOS: NIC is either in position OFF, or no position is highlighted at all ("Bardo"/ "Limbo"). NIC has to set to ON there in BIOS --> save to reenable NIC.

BIOS 2.6.4. Core2Quad. Tried all sorts of bootloaders.

I'm pretty sure I followed this guide step by step, but I'll check again once I have time. Maybe there's different revisions/ editions of the motherboard pr NIC Dell used?

PS: does the GMA950 KEXT also enable QE/CI on the 745's GMA 3000 ??

PS2: aha - I did apply the RTC patch in DSDT, but maybe it's not enough? Will apply rayap's AppleRTC patch as you suggest in your guide and report back - thanks!

#28
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

@ client00: *sometimes*, in Lion 10.7.2/ 10.7.3: after wake-up from sleep: no Ethernet. When looking into Sys Prefs/ Network: "Cable unplugged". When looking into BIOS: NIC is either in position OFF, or no position is highlighted at all ("Bardo"/ "Limbo"). NIC has to set to ON there in BIOS --> save to reenable NIC.


Okay. I think I know what's happening, I had that problem on my initial setup. No DSDT is needed.
Just like you guessed you have to apply the patch (provided by rayap) to the original AppleRTC.kext in /S/L/E.

Just run terminal and paste this line:

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x75\x30\x44\x89\xf8|\xeb\x30\x44\x89\xf8|; s|\x75\x3d\x8b\x75\x08|\xeb\x3d\x8b\x75\x08|' /System/Library/Extensions/AppleRTC.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleRTC

Press enter, type in your PW and once again hit enter.

This is the AppleRTC patch that will prevent your 10.7 system from getting a partial BIOS reset after an S3 sleep/resume cycle. This will cure your internal NIC disappearing (reverting to "Off" in BIOS) and your PC auto turning on at 12.00 A.M. (BIOS feature).
I thought you would not have missed that, it was mentioned in the notes section of the osx86 wiki.
:-)
Good luck...

P.S. rayap revised the script, take a look at his later post

PS: does the GMA950 KEXT also enable QE/CI on the 745's GMA 3000 ??


I have no idea. Some other user edited my osx86 entry for the 745, he mentions sth about the GMA3000 being supported. You could email him I suppose.

#29
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
thanks client00. I set the Dell up in multi-tasking fashion .. ;)

re. patch revisited: thanks, but I'd rather patch the original in S/LE, don't have one in E/E.

re. GMA kext: geez - imprecise editing. I am 99% sure his kext only offers res change no hardw. accelleration. No matter what that person should've added QE/CI YES or NO! Maybe one day I'll try. Suggestion: re-edit that comment, adding at least "initiation of QE/CI unknown" ..

As per your request and for public usage, DSDT is attached. All changes might be cosmetic 'cause the box runs anyways. Maybe MaLd0n would say something different .. ;)

DSDT Dell Optiplex 745 SFF BIOS 2.6.4

patched w. El Coniglio's DSDT Editor and Patcher + latest iasl

additional patches from http://olarila.com/forum/patches.php

DSDT remained compilable after applying the following patches:
DTGP
WAK
LPC
NEW HPET
Shutdown
Intel SBUS
_T_x rename
DTGP Desktop
LPC ICH8

tried more patches like RTC, IRQ etc., but these resulted in non-resolvable compile errors.

NOTE: Warnings remain!

Bugs B.
Feb. 11, 2012

Feel free to let me know any changes you observe :)

Attached Files



#30
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Thanks for providing us with the DSDT file. I'll try it and post back my experience.

From time to time I update/correct the wiki. I'll take into account your suggestion regarding support info for the onboard GMA3000.

Take care :)

#31
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
client00, is your 800MHz (2 x 400MHz) RAM indicated as 800MHz in "About this Mac" and "More Information"? Mine is indicated 531MHz. In BIOS correct 800MHz. Kingston DDR-2 PC6400 800MHz. Tried fixing the Freqency in smbios, also tried all sorts of bootloaders incl. Chimera, no dice.

Also, do you have to press keys at least twice for wake-up from sleep like carrick and I do with our ATI cards?

Anybody else experiencing these abnormalities?

BTW, I only get a LPC error during boot that C-states can't be generated, no error regarding p-states. Haven't researched yet though how to verify in booted OS X.

re. speedstepping: have you enabled it in BIOS?

PS: in WIndows 7 64, running SIW: "Error: Memory Information reported wrong by BIOS". SIW then displays "400MHz/ DDR-2 800". I loaded BIOS defaults in BIOS, disabled Floppy, saved, but no change neither in X nor in 7 ..

#32
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
@BugsB and everyone concerned

The DSDT.aml file I tried unfortunately does NOT seem to cure problems present in a 745 OS X system. Computer takes a bit longer to enter sleep and much longer than normal to wake from S3. Sometimes it won't resume on the 1st attempt, you need to press a key or mouse button for a 2nd time. In addition USB 2.0 devices disconnect with a system warning message right after a S3 sleep/resume.

Also I am not sure if speedstep works, even though it is enabled in BIOS (have you included a relevant patch/fix in the DSDT BugsB?)
System functions just the same without the DSDT.aml file (I think we need help by Mald0n at this point).

I use Sleepenabler.kext in /E/E, computer sleeps and wakes up instantaneously, only sometimes display takes a couple of seconds to come back.

Imac9,1 system definition seems to work better

Try inserting these lines in your smbios.plist

<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>iMac9,1</string>

This way you will not need NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (but you DO need it if you use Imac8,1, without it CPU performance drops significantly)

As for RAM speed being reported wrong do not worry. It's only of cosmetic importance, memory modules still run at 800 MHz. (I also get the speed shown as 531 MHz)

If you badly want to change that, you can put those lines in your smbios.plist

<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>19</string>
<key>SMmemspeed</key>
<string>800</string>

#33
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i

@BugsB and everyone concerned

The DSDT.aml file I tried unfortunately does NOT seem to cure problems present in a 745 OS X system.

:( like what?

I simply went ahead, applied a patch, tried to compile, if not good, reverted --> if good applied the next patch etc.
When, towards the end of that process, I clicked into the folder "Desktop", I saw there were pacthes in there with the same label as in the folder above, so I simply applied again - some compiled, others didn't. You see what I mean when you look above into the list w. patches applied.

I admint I didn't really know what I was doing in regards to most of the patches. What certainly makes sense is running the patcher on a fresh virgin DSDT, let it auto-repair errors, apply the most basic DGTP and _WAK patch, compile, use. That's what I'm doing right now.

Again, which behaviours would you like to see improved?

I only see:
  • waking-up from sleep takes two keystrokes (always, even w/o DSDT)
  • front mic is very quiet, even with sliders in both Pref Panes all the way to the right, VoodooHDA & Sound
  • powering down or restarting is sometimes a bit slowed down w. the messages on the screen "shutdown monitor" bla bla, "PID still active" and something with children (don't recall exactly)

Computer takes a bit longer to enter sleep and much longer than normal to wake from S3. Sometimes it won't resume on the 1st attempt, you need to press a key or mouse button for a 2nd time. In addition USB 2.0 devices disconnect with a system warning message right after a S3 sleep/resume.

Also I am not sure if speedstep works, even though it is enabled in BIOS (have you included a relevant patch/fix in the DSDT BugsB?)

no. From what I know speedstep is CPU specific, so everybody has to patch their DSDT accdg. to their CPU. I inserted a Core2Quad Q6600 2.4GHz 2.4 8MB 1066MHz.

System functions just the same without the DSDT.aml file (I think we need help by Mald0n at this point).

agreed :)

I use Sleepenabler.kext in /E/E, computer sleeps and wakes up instantaneously, only sometimes display takes a couple of seconds to come back.

Imac9,1 system definition seems to work better

Try inserting these lines in your smbios.plist

<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>iMac9,1</string>

been running w. anything betw. 9.1 and 12.2 (pre-made SMBIOS from Cham. Wiz), they all work w/o NullCPUPM. The latest w. a Core2Duo seems to have been the 10.1, the 11.x and 12.x have LGA. What accdg. to your measurements is running better w. 9.1 SMBIOS than w. 10.x -12.x?

This way you will not need NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (but you DO need it if you use Imac8,1, without it CPU performance drops significantly)

As for RAM speed being reported wrong do not worry. It's only of cosmetic importance, memory modules still run at 800 MHz. (I also get the speed shown as 531 MHz)

If you badly want to change that, you can put those lines in your smbios.plist

<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>19</string>
<key>SMmemspeed</key>
<string>800</string>

relieved, and cool, that works. What's very interesting is that both key strings were in the SMBIOS but the other way around (SMmemspeed 1st, then SMmemtype). Flipped'em around, cut and pasted to the very end of the plist right before the </dict>, now 800MHz displayed. Weird ...

After inserting 2 x 4GB new Crucial Memory (this one), the box now seems to be running 100% stable in both, Win7 64 and Lion 10.7.3 - no BSODs and KPs anymore :)

#34
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Again, which behaviours would you like to see improved?

I only see:

  • waking-up from sleep takes two keystrokes (always, even w/o DSDT)
  • front mic is very quiet, even with sliders in both Pref Panes all the way to the right, VoodooHDA &amp; Sound
  • powering down or restarting is sometimes a bit slowed down w. the messages on the screen "shutdown monitor" bla bla, "PID still active" and something with children (don't recall exactly)


It'd be nice if we could get the following:

Native CPU PM
Proper S3 sleep/resume, without the need of any kext (I use sleepenabler.kext)
Proper shutdown/reboot, without delay, again without the need of any kext (I use EvoReboot.kext)
USBEHCI full compatibility (for now USB 2.0 devices get disconnected right after S3 resume, system displays a warning message)

Regarding low mic level, have you bumped up "Mic", "Input Gain" and "Recording level" sliders, all three of them?
Which VoodooHDA kext did you use?

#35
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
This is a great h'tosh, been spending some time on it now. Very fast w. the Core2Quad 2,4GHz I inserted + the 1GB ATI HD 5450 from Saphire (native OS X kexts, no injector, not even GraphicsEnabler or ATIConfig).

No KPs whatsoever.

Is DVD Player working for anybody in 10.7.3? I guess the optical drive is simply not compatible. In case I ever watch a DVD on it I'll most likely use VNC anyway.

#36
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Is DVD Player working for anybody in 10.7.3? I guess the optical drive is simply not compatible. In case I ever watch a DVD on it I'll most likely use VNC anyway.


Can you be more specific? Exactly which symptom do you get? Does DVD Player.app crash every time you open it?
I had a similar case with another osx86 system, running 10.6.8.
The DVD-ROM drive should not really matter, do you have the GSA-H31N? My 745 plays DVD Video with Apple DVD Player just fine.

Please open Terminal.app, type the following line:

ioreg|grep ATY

hit ENTER and paste the output here.

#37
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i

Can you be more specific? Exactly which symptom do you get? Does DVD Player.app crash every time you open it?

exactly. Don't even see the window once = rather suffocating than crashing.

I had a similar case with another osx86 system, running 10.6.8.
The DVD-ROM drive should not really matter, do you have the GSA-H31N?

SONY CDRWDVD CRX880A:

Firmware Revision: KD11
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Generic Drive Support)
Profile Path: None
Cache: 2048 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw

My 745 plays DVD Video with Apple DVD Player just fine.

might also be some kind of graphics/ framebuffer issue. However full QE/CI, dual mon (VGA/ DVI; HDMI not tested), full res change on both ports, Chess working (I lost)

Please open Terminal.app, type the following line:

ioreg|grep ATY

hit ENTER and paste the output here.

| |   |   | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@0  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000251, registered, matched, active, busy $
	| |   |   | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x10000025d, registered, matched, active, $
	| |   |   | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@1  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000252, registered, matched, active, busy $
	| |   |   | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x100000265, registered, matched, active, $
	| |   |   | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@2  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000253, registered, matched, active, busy $
	| |   |   | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x10000026b, registered, matched, active, $

and from bdmesg:
Chameleon 2.1svn (svn-r1886) [2012-03-10 21:27:02]

Framebuffer @0xD0000000  MMIO @0xFE9E0000 I/O Port @0x0000DC00 ROM Addr @0xFEA00000
ATI card POSTed, reading VBIOS from legacy space
Framebuffer set to device's default: Eulemur
Nr of ports set to framebuffer's default: 3
ATI Cedar ATI Radeon HD 5430M 1024MB (Eulemur) [1002:68e1] (subsys [174b:3000]):: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)

I have the 5450 non-M, but this might be just cosmetic (El Coniglio's Sys Info app also detects it as 5430M and even classifies it as not supported - which I guess I don't have to worry about 'cause that's not the one I have anyway ..VID, DID and SubSys ID are all correct, I just doublechecked from within Windows).

I also already tried the PCIroot=1 trick that worked from some, tried different fb personalities, and the two possible injectors for this grfx card (even though it works w/o), so it might really be the Sony.

Thank you for your efforts :)!

PS: in the old days some overcame this w/ different SMBIOS files but details were never shared/ posted. It would be awesome if you could zip your chameleon and smbios plists and attach them to your reply.

#38
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Hello again.
I think I can be of help. As I've mentioned I've dealt with that problem before. And I have solved it!
It's interesting that you have done your homework. Those steps you took are indeed supposed to help. And yet they didn't :( So what's wrong?
As you probably already know, your problem is framebuffer related.
It looks like your system uses the default Radeonframebuffer instead of the native one for the 5450, even though chameleon bootloader tries to inject the correct values, through Graphicsenabler=yes. It simply won't do the trick.
And you DO need the appropriate FB to load as it gets involved not only in DVD Player.app function but in proper graphics output (esp. in games/animation software).
Fortunately there is an alternative.
The kext I have attached (ATY_init.kext) is written by netkas and it is supposed to inject some missing values concerning your display adapter. Copy this kext to /S/L/E (not /E/E, it won't work!) and turn off Graphicsenabler. Update kext cache with Kext Wizard and reboot.

Once again run ioreg and paste results.
When i "ioreg|grep ATY" my ATI Radeon HD 4890 OC i get this:

AMD-OSX86:~ user$ ioreg|grep ATY
	| |   |   | +-o ATY,MotMot@0  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002de, registered,$
	| |   |   | | +-o ATY_MotMot  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002e0, regist$
	| |   |   | +-o ATY,MotMot@1  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002df, registered,$
	| |   |   | | +-o ATY_MotMot  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002fb, regist$
AMD-OSX86:~ user$

MotMot is the framebuffer I need. Previously I had RadeonFramebuffer.

Attached Files



#39
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
neat, thanks. I remembered Netkas as a E/E hater and had installed his ATY kext to S/L/E before. I compared, yours is exactly the same I had already tried, but thanks. On -v boot I saw before something like "ATY probing 68e1", then "ATY quitting 68e1" (I think the values were twisted which from what I remember is how it's supposed to be displayed). Replacing the ATY kext w. the ATI5xxxInjector kext installed to S/L/E did not help, either: DVD Player still dying as an infant, and no correct FB personality via ioreg ..

I guess I'd next have to dump the card's BIOS into a ROM file (e.g. w. GPU-Z or AIDA64), then process it accdg. to bcc9's manual. The thing is that I have moe than used up my allotted time for this and *urgently* have to progress w. real life ..

I might have enough time to boot Windows and attach the ROM dump before I leave ..

#40
client00

client00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Bummer... :(
Good luck forcing BIOS image. I never got it to work in Chameleon.

Make a stop here first, for some already dumped BIOS ROM images...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy