Jump to content

Ati Radeon HD 5650 on Lion 10.7 with CI/QE


  • Please log in to reply
138 replies to this topic

#41
wulian

wulian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi fellas!

I did the whole tutorial two times but I always get to a black screen after booting just like "zapsu" seems to get. I strongly assume I did everything correct. At some part of booting in verbose mode I get some infos about the built-in card (name, memory etc) and also there is no scrambling as i usually get without booting with the boot flag "PCIRootUID=1". I guess this could be a hint that the card is recognized correctly and something else is wrong.

Can you give me some advise? May I should try another "AtiConfig"/framebuffer?

My notebook: Dell Studio 1749
i5 520M (2,3 Ghz)
5650M 1024 MB
4 GB RAM
17,3" 1600x900

#42
wulian

wulian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Okay, now I had a little breakthrough! I edited my blabla717-file again (surprise: I didn't do everything correctly) and corrected it so that it now is absolutley right. Then i rebooted and got scrumblings again. I nearly gave up for today but i tried the following bootflags in chameleon even though I knew i put it in the com.apple.boot-files in /Extra and the other folder (dont know the exact destination):

AtiConfig=Hoolock
GraphicsEnabler=Yes
-v

And tada: I had a black screen without blacklight so i took a hdmi cable connected to my TV and plugged it in an there it was: My desktop. Woohoo. But two things:

1. Why aren't the flags in the boot-files being used? I didn't install anything which could explain it, just the recommended version of chameleon.

2. And what should I do now? I want my LCD being used. Smartie mentioned something like that. Is it easy to fix it? Or will it take another year for me to find out about it?

#43
CostardRouge

CostardRouge

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:France
Thank you for this guide !

Ah ah ah, I've the same laptop that you (HP Pavilion DV6 with Core i7 and ATI 5650m), so I've used youy EDID.
I'm on Snow Leoaprd 10.6.3 and it's works...

:)

EDIT: I've performed a Lioninstallation, and used this guide and it's works
http://www.youtube.c...t=UU9z0fi_mYALo

#44
1120

1120

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BELARUS, Gomel'
There are some problems with LVDS + 1600x900 + QE/CI.... yet. Am I rigth? Yes! Im right! What a FCKN card 5650m\6550m. During almost 365 days I tried to make LVDS work.... but NOTHING.... ZERO... oh my GOD... please make my internal display work! LET'S PRAY!

#45
Lucas Twisk

Lucas Twisk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,

I'm new to the Hackintosh Scene, and I've got a question.

I'm at SL 10.6.8 right now, and I want to update to Lion. I searched for the "USB methode" you mentioned. So I repaired the 'installESD.dmg' to my 8 gig USB stick. But when I try to boot into the USB stick I got a Kernel Panic, it says something like: "Unable to find a driver for this platform: ACPI [somecrap] IOPlatformExpert.cpp:1504".

Did I use the wrong "USB methode" or is there something else I did wrong that causes this KP?

Thanks,

Lucas T.

EDIT: Got it all working now! Thanks for the GREATtutorial!

#46
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia
I compiled new Chameleon RC5 latest v1331 with edited ATI Hardware ID.

My Hardware ID is 68C1 but subsys is 1448:103C so if your's is different let me know and i'll add it and recompile easy as.

Please find attached.
Attached File  rc5_v1331_5650m.zip   126.66KB   249 downloads

#47
dd10986

dd10986

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:pt

I compiled new Chameleon RC5 latest v1331 with edited ATI Hardware ID.

My Hardware ID is 68C1 but subsys is 1448:103C so if your's is different let me know and i'll add it and recompile easy as.

Please find attached.
Attached File  rc5_v1331_5650m.zip   126.66KB   249 downloads



Hi Atlee,

Could you please try to re-compile a boot for my 1002-68C1 / 1025-033E (Rev 00).

Many thanks.

#48
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia

Hi Atlee,

Could you please try to re-compile a boot for my 1002-68C1 / 1025-033E (Rev 00).

Many thanks.


My ID 1448:103C and yours 1025:033E so far for 5650m's.

Now v1332.
Attached File  10.7_rc5v1332_5650m.zip   127.3KB   158 downloads

#49
Lucas Twisk

Lucas Twisk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I compiled new Chameleon RC5 latest v1331 with edited ATI Hardware ID.

My Hardware ID is 68C1 but subsys is 1448:103C so if your's is different let me know and i'll add it and recompile easy as.

Please find attached.
Attached File  rc5_v1331_5650m.zip   126.66KB   249 downloads


What exactly is the advantage of your boot file with the edited ATI Hardware ID above the original boot file ? I'm new to OS X and the whole mackintosh 'thing'. Is it just a upgrade to make it work with the newer Chameleon release?
Sorry for my Noobness.

#50
dd10986

dd10986

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:pt

My ID 1448:103C and yours 1025:033E so far for 5650m's.

Now v1332.
Attached File  10.7_rc5v1332_5650m.zip   127.3KB   158 downloads


Hello Atlee,
Using your boot file I cannot get full resolution or QE/CI and wireless (atheros) doesn't work. I am currently using Chameleon rc5 r875 with full resolution and qe/ci. Also get loading errors from audio and ATI3000x kext doesn't load (see underneath).

Regards

quote

Kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC - library kext com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily not found.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Can't load kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC - failed to resolve library dependencies.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC failed to load (0xdc00800e).
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Failed to load kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC (error 0xdc00800e).
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC might not load Couldn't alloc class "AudioAUUCDriver"
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: - kextd is currently unavailable.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.ATIRadeonX3000 - library kext com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily not found.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Can't load kext com.apple.ATIRadeonX3000 - failed to resolve library dependencies.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.ATIRadeonX3000 failed to load (0xdc00800e).
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Failed to load kext com.apple.ATIRadeonX3000 (error 0xdc00800e).
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC might not load - kextd is currently unavailable.Couldn't alloc class "ATIRadeonX3000"
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC might not load - kextd is currently unavailable.
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: mbinit: done [64 MB total pool size, (42/21) split]
Aug 10 20:36:07 localhost kernel[0]: Pthread support ABORTS when sync kernel primitives misused

unquote

#51
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia

Regarding errors


I personally think those errors due to the new chameleon versions, think it's a bug because I get full resolution and QE/CI because I force my EDID under /System/Library/Displays/Overrides.

All kexts load:
Posted Image
Also regarding the audio, also a chameleon issue, VoodooHDA runs fine, I'm currently working on a patched AppleHDA that should work with my IDT audio.

i'm sure the errors can go away, i guess the overnight builds i'm building have bugs but I like freshly baked :( you can always go back to more stable builds.

I can build a more solid chameleon without errors if you like?

What exactly is the advantage of your boot file with the edited ATI Hardware ID above the original boot file ? I'm new to OS X and the whole mackintosh 'thing'. Is it just a upgrade to make it work with the newer Chameleon release?
Sorry for my Noobness.


Without your hardware ID, your card will not activate and won't be able to be used, when it activates the card it tells OSX to look for example 68C1 and to load all four kexts relating with that ID.

#52
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia
Don't use v1332, the card goes to unsupported, 1331 works.

To make things simpler for everyone I will just compile Chimera r877 with ATI ID edits. stable version :D have it up shortly :(

#53
Lucas Twisk

Lucas Twisk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Without your hardware ID, your card will not activate and won't be able to be used, when it activates the card it tells OSX to look for example 68C1 and to load all four kexts relating with that ID.

Thanks! I think I understand it a little bit now . When I look into System Profiler it says device code: '0x68c1' . So that means that my card is already activated , yes?

And another question. Is it true that we are not able to run 64-bit kernel because of our cards? When I ooh into System Profiler it says: '64-bits kernel and extensions: No' Or did you manage to boot in 64-bit?

#54
dd10986

dd10986

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:pt

Don't use v1332, the card goes to unsupported, 1331 works.

To make things simpler for everyone I will just compile Chimera r877 with ATI ID edits. stable version :D have it up shortly :)


Thanks atlee, I am currently using r875 with forced edid and it's working ok full res and qe/ci, but if you re-compile Chimera r877 I have a go and try it. Later chameleon r1xxx don't work properly or i'm not installing it right (usually just copy boot file to root). Regards.

#55
jamdownian

jamdownian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Can i get Chimera 877 source please, the Source that i have is rev.1259.
I want to recompile my own boot file...

#56
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia

Can i get Chimera 877 source please, the Source that i have is rev.1259.
I want to recompile my own boot file...


I have compiled v1350 chimera, wondering why 5650's are unsupported compared to 1331, will have to mess around a little got all night though so will be back and forth.

will be back.

Thanks atlee, I am currently using r875 with forced edid and it's working ok full res and qe/ci, but if you re-compile Chimera r877 I have a go and try it. Later chameleon r1xxx don't work properly or i'm not installing it right (usually just copy boot file to root). Regards.


I will just use the latest as there are so many changes in these 1xxx builds, example is changing from com.apple.boot.plist to org.chameleon.boot.plist from v1332.

Maybe AtiConfig works in so many builds. Might have to do a little research :)

#57
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia
TESTED AND WORKS 100%

Errors due to Chameleon RC5 1xxx versions i think, correct me if i'm wrong, but all kexts load.
Posted Image

GOTO System Preferences > Mission Control
Untick Show Dashboard as a space.
Now goto Dashboard and drag and drop widget
You should get ripple effect :)


Attached Files



#58
CostardRouge

CostardRouge

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:France
Hi atlee !

I have almost the same laptop as you (HPDV6 3194SF), but with the same hardwares and I was wondering how did you managed to obtain 4 cores functionals ? :D

#59
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia

Hi atlee !

I have almost the same laptop as you (HPDV6 3194SF), but with the same hardwares and I was wondering how did you managed to obtain 4 cores functionals ? :)


I compiled my own version of the Lion kernel with a patch fix or just use Taptuns which you'll find in Mammoths HP DvX series posts, do a search :D


Hi atlee !

I have almost the same laptop as you (HPDV6 3194SF), but with the same hardwares and I was wondering how did you managed to obtain 4 cores functionals ? :)


What soundcard is in your machine a IDT 92HD81B1X? using VoodooHDA or patched your own AppleHDA?
Bluetooth? Have you tested it after patching your DSDT?
I can Restart and Shutdown fine, cannot press F9 to goto boot menu because buttons are locked until switching off power. Due to CMOS i think. but CMOS 0x02 fix don't seem to budge this issue.

Sleep would love to know? DSDT edit or Sleepenabler? or sleep script?

Anyway I'm working at each of these trying to find a work around, also trying to fix LPCB (Low Pin Count, Cooler CPU temps and makes CPU go into Turbo ratio mode instead of being stuck at Ratio of 12.) Reach's 21.

#60
alfaleader

alfaleader

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Hi

I have a HP DV7-4050eb (i5 430M dualcore, 5650M) and want to install osx.

But when I try to install OSX (##### 3, cpus=1 flag) it installs good. Reboot with ##### 3, to osx configuration, then osx homescreen. Update to 10.6.8 with combo updater.
But when I install a bootloader (chimera, chameleon) and try to reboot, it gets stuck and reboots.
Tried cpus=1 busratio=17 arch=x86_32 -v -x ...
The last line on -v where it reboots is something with "loading darwin x86_64".

Do I have to do something else?

UPDATE: got it working till the scrambled graphics part :( So I got it installed to 10.6.8 fine, now only the HD5650M and edid problems :)

How do you get the right EDID? I don't understand what part to use. Used a windows program and got this (in hex)
:2000000000FFFFFFFFFFFF0030E47A020000000000130103802615780AA8C09D58509A2695
:200020001C5054000000010101010101010101010101010101012F2640B860840C30303023
:2000400023007ED710000019000000000000000000000000000000000000000000FE000001
:2000600000004C47446973706C61790A000000FE004C503137335744312D544C433300C207
:00000001FF

and

EDID DATA

	 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
----------------------------------------------------
 00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 30 E4 7A 02 00 00 00 00
 10: 00 13 01 03 80 26 15 78 0A A8 C0 9D 58 50 9A 26
 20: 1C 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
 30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 2F 26 40 B8 60 84 0C 30 30 30
 40: 23 00 7E D7 10 00 00 19 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FE 00 00
 60: 00 00 4C 47 44 69 73 70 6C 61 79 0A 00 00 00 FE
 70: 00 4C 50 31 37 33 57 44 31 2D 54 4C 43 33 00 C2
 80: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 90: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

PixelClock = 97,75

HorizontalActive = 1600
HorizontalFrontPorch = 48
HorizontalBlanking = 184
HorizontalSyncPulseWidth = 48
HorizontalPolarity = False

VerticalActive = 900
VerticalFrontPorch = 2
VerticalBlanking = 12
VerticalSyncPulseWidth = 3
VerticalPolarity = False

What should I use for the edid stuff? And what boot file should I use now? (HP hd5650 device id 1002 - 68C1 and subvendor 103C)

All help appreciated!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy