OSX 10.6.4 Hanging Issue - Please point me in right direction!

THF_Dave

6 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I have come here to ask for a pointer in the right direction, I have lots of experience with PCs but very little with Macs. I have recently built a system with the following hardware:

ASUS P5B SE Motherboard (Bios Revision 1103)

Intel Core2 Duo 6600 CPU

Gigabyte GeForce 8400MS 512Mb

2GB DDR2 800MHz

Seagate 500GB Barracuda

Sony Optical Drive

I have managed to install Snow Leopard from retail 10.6.3 disk using [url="http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/279450-why-insanelymac-does-not-support-tonymacx86/"]#####[/url] and updated it to 10.6.4, and I am using the myHack bootloader. Apart from this I have not customised the installation at all. I also have done the usual stuff such as set my BIOS to AHCI, disabled the JMicron controller.

The system boots, restarts and shuts down fine. I can connect to the internet using my Edimax USB WiFi adaptor and I can install software. I have left the system running for a whole day, not running any software and it was fine. However, when I come to use the system, it seems to hang. Specifically, I have been trying to install the iOS SDK (the whole reason that I wanted a Mac is to develop iPhone apps) and the installer only ever gets halfway through before I lose the system.

The mouse and keyboard still respond, and I can usually bring windows to the front and drag them around but I lose all button responses etc. This fault also happens when I try to download any particularly large files, or when I try to do two tasks at once.

I have scoured these forums and found lot of help for specific hardware faults, but this one is a bit perplexing. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers!

Dave

Do you find anything in the systems logs ?

(The easiest way to go there is 'About This Mac' and then 'Get info'

It opens the system profiler and down below you'll see the logs.