Jump to content

ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution - How I did it


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
Update 12.29.2009

Here is a short brief how I get my 10.6.2 working on my ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution

1. Retail Snow Leo Install from an existing OSX to a blank disk
2. Update to 10.6.2
3. Install Chameleon RC3 on the Snow Leo Disk
4. Copy Netkas PC EFI 10.5 boot file to Snow Leo Disk (root) - you might need to show hidden files cause you cannot overwrite the existing on in FINDER, or go via terminal
5. Copy the needed Kexts needed into your E/E Folder
6. Copy the DSDT File to Extra
7. Copy com.apple.boot.plist ans SMBIOS.plist into Extra Folder

You might wanne edit your Boot Disk UUID to SMBIOS.plist:
<key>SMUUID</key>
<string>Your UUID here</string>


and edit Platform UUID / Package Content / info.plist
<key>PlatformUUID</key>
<string>
Your UUID here</string>

8. Restart and Boot up in Single User Mode Cleaning/Rebuilding kextcaches
9. Boot up into OSX the first time
10. Install the Realtek Kext for Snow (Installer is in the Package too or use RealtekR1000SK.kext and install it manually with Kexthelper in S/L/E to make your Network and Bonjour working 100%, optional IONetworkingFamiliy.kext with some edits from my side (only an option)
11. Install AppleHDA.kext and HDAEnabler to S/L/E to get sound up in 32 and 64bit
12. Run Kextutility to clean/rebuild your Kextcaches and boot up again
13. Ready GO!

I am using a Highpoint 3520 Rocket Raid Controller with 4SSDs in raid0.
Also slow SATA Problem is fixed in my DSDT.

With my DSDT you will be able to use two Graphic Cards installed with EFI String Method (thx to aquamac)

Downloads:
Complete Installation Package for ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution
USB / Flash Installer for Retail Installation (just rebuild you retail Iso to Stick an Install the Bootloader on it!)
Tools: Kextutility and [url="http://"http://cheetha.net/""]Kexthelper[/url]

#2
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Hey how do you get the Sound working?
I have download your HDAEnabler and AD2000b kext, but my sound will not go on.

I have the Same board, but it will not work.

I hope you can help me.

The kext have the right 755 and the owner is root:wheel.

#3
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Hey how do you get the Sound working?
I have download your HDAEnabler and AD2000b kext, but my sound will not go on.

I have the Same board, but it will not work.

I hope you can help me.

The kext have the right 755 and the owner is root:wheel.


For Sound you also need AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E...
I can give you an upload by tomorrow when i am in the office...
Hope that helps...

#4
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Yes I think this will help me :-)
Thank's for your help.

EDIT: Ok, now I have a result.
I have forget the HDEAEnabler.kext now my sound works fine.

#5
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
Here I packed my new Extra Files, In S/L/E i am using this HADEnabler.kext and AppleHDA.kext.
See linked ZIP File. New: SATA ICH10 is DSDT patched and runs at Fullspeed now...

By the way, i am booting into 32bit OS X. Under 64bit sound does not work.
Anything else 100%
If you have a solution for sound uner 64bit, pls let me know...

#6
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Hey yes I have a solution under 64Bit ^^
I have user this kext's http://rapidshare.co.../kexts.zip.html

* AppleHDA.kext (64 Bit)
* HDAEnabler.kext (64 Bit)
* HDEFEnabler.kext (64 Bit)
* AD2000b.kext (64 Bit)

I hope this will help you ;-)

#7
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
Yes, works perfect! Thanx a lot...
But strange, for Example Cinebench is running 50% slower under 64bit than under 32bit...
Render Time under 32bit: 41sec. under 64bit: 1min.01sec.
Think Cinema4D is a 32bit optimized App and is slower under 64bit...
Also there is no 64bit driver available for my Tritton USB Graphiccard...
But I can live with 32bit for now...

Everything fine now for you? Have you tried my DSDT with the SATA Optimization?
For me it improved onboard IHC10 Speed up to 5-6 times faster...

BR


Hey yes I have a solution under 64Bit ^^
I have user this kext's http://rapidshare.co.../kexts.zip.html

* AppleHDA.kext (64 Bit)
* HDAEnabler.kext (64 Bit)
* HDEFEnabler.kext (64 Bit)
* AD2000b.kext (64 Bit)

I hope this will help you ;-)



#8
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Yes but, if i use the dsdt fix my mac could not boot more.
If i have later time, i will post a screen shoot of my Problem.

THX for your help ;-)

#9
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Yes but, if i use the dsdt fix my mac could not boot more.
If i have later time, i will post a screen shoot of my Problem.

THX for your help ;-)


Fixing DSDT you have to be very careful and do exactly what has to be done.
ONe wrong charakter and you'll get an error.
How did you made your DSDT? Can you post your one?
I am intressted in having an eye on your File!

#10
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Fixing DSDT you have to be very careful and do exactly what has to be done.
ONe wrong charakter and you'll get an error.
How did you made your DSDT? Can you post your one?
I am intressted in having an eye on your File!


Hey I have the DSDT Patch from you .zip File.
I don't make my owne.

#11
rpgman1

rpgman1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lawrenceville, GA
I was thinking about installing Snow Leopard on my i7 rig. My components consists of:
i7 920 C0 stepping
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 RAM
EVGA Geforce GTX 275 1792MB
HP dvd1170i DVD burner
WD Caviar Black 500GB

So do I follow the same set-up you did or do I have to get different software apps and such? Guess I have to borrow a classmate's Macbook in order to get my rig to install Snow Leopard.

#12
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
Hi rpgmean1,

you have 3 Options.

1) Remote Install from an existing OSX86 like I always do and like I wrote in my first Post.
2) Install with Boot132 Iso and the Retail CD
3) Install with a prepared USB Stick

I always do 1) and did 3) two times.
For your P6T6 WS Board I uploaded you an USB Flash Installer here. Feel free to use it, just restore your Snow Leo Retail on your Stick and install the USB Flash Bootloader on it.

See also my updated Post #1! The newest kext Files and DSDT, etc. I am using are online!

#13
rpgman1

rpgman1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Thank you so much. I am going to buy a Mac Mini for my parents next year, but what you did is greatly appreciated and I've always wanted to try a Mac like some of my college classmates ;)

#14
NeedForSpeed1973

NeedForSpeed1973

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I'm trying to install Retail Snow Leo on my P6 Revo but with no luck. I've tried many generic HowTos but only now stumbled into this specific one.
I've tried both ways: either installing to a USB disk and then attach it to the other PC (the one with the Revo board) and copying the install DVD to a pendrive and then install from it.
I guess I have a problem with APIC because in both cases, when i boot with "-v" option, I can see that it hangs after these 2 lines:

IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 64:87
IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 88:111

In BIOS ACPI settings are:
2.0 Support - Enabled
ACPI APIC support - Enabled

If i disable APIC i get a nice kernel panic from com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform

System specs:
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Intel Core i7 Extreme i965 @ 3.2Ghz
6Gb Ram
3xNvidia GTX280 (that could be a problem?)
2xWD Raptors in RAID0 attached to ICH10R (that could be another problem?)
1xSamsung SATA HD attached to ICH10R (where i'm supposed to install)

All unused stuff is disabled in BIOS (Marvell SAS, secondary LAN, etc.)

Thanks in advance for your help!

#15
Nero91

Nero91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
He you should delete the dsdt.aml file. Then it should work. I have this problem too and if i delete the dsdt.aml fixe it worke fine. But if you delete the dsdt.aml file you ned the IOATAFamily.kext for ICH10 support. If you wannt i upload my USB-EFI Install system.

#16
NeedForSpeed1973

NeedForSpeed1973

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

He you should delete the dsdt.aml file. Then it should work. I have this problem too and if i delete the dsdt.aml fixe it worke fine. But if you delete the dsdt.aml file you ned the IOATAFamily.kext for ICH10 support. If you wannt i upload my USB-EFI Install system.


Thanks, that gave me a little progress but I still can get to the Installer.
I deleted the dsdt.aml file and I didn't had to add IOATAFamily.kext because it was already there.
Now I get pass the IOAPIC, I get a bunch of warings and errors:

Bug: launchctl.c:3557 (23930):17: ioctl(s6, SIOCAIFADDR_IN6, &ifra6) != -1
 Creating RAM Disk for /Volumes
 ...
 stat: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: stat: No Such file or directory
 mount: realpath /Library/ColorSync: No such file or directory
 chown: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: No such file or directory
 chmod: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: No such file or directory
 nvram: Error getting variable - 'boot-args': (iokit/common) data was not found
 using 64-bit bootcache playlist
 BootCacheControl: could not unlink playlist /var/db/BootCache.playlist: Read-only file system
 Bug: launchctl.c:2325 (23930):30: (dbfd = open(g_job_overrides_db_path, O_RDONLY | O_EXLOCK | O_CREAT, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR)) != -1
 USBF:   6.199   AppleUSBUHCI[0xffffff806e3cb000]::start unable to initialize UIM
 systemShutdown false
 BootCache: hit rate below threshold (35 hits on 1824 lookups)
 BootCache: hit rate below threshold (35 hits on 1825 lookups)
 BootCache: could not terminate cache on bad hitrate
 NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
 ** AppleSMBusPCI::start failed to get acpi path for provider
 Previous Shutdown Cause: 0
 DSMOS has arrived
 ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out
 AppleTyMCEDriver::start coreVIDPID = 0xffffffff Number of packages = 1 Number of cpus = 8 memory monitor trough MCA
 AppleRTL8169Ethernet: Ethernet address 00:23............ (hidden for privacy;) )

And then it hangs again

Thanks for your help

#17
rpgman1

rpgman1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lawrenceville, GA
So how are you installing SL? I've tried the USB stick and the BIOS didn't read the image. Should I just burned the iso to a DL DVD then? Not sure about the bootloader since I don't have access to a Mac to format my USB stick and don't have a previous OSX86 installation.

Edit: I might have to format the USB flash drive at my college since we have Macs stationed at the kiosks. So I format the USB drive to GUID partition with Mac OSX Journaled and add the SL iso, Asus installation package, and Asus flash installer on the flash drive?

#18
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
Right... you have to rebuild your OSX Snow Leo Retail ISO on a USB Stick (min. 8GB) with DiskUtility under an existing OSX! Than install Aquamacs USB-Flash Boot Loader to the Stick...
Boot from Stick and Install OSX to a harddisk...
You should now be able to boot up in Snow Leo!
After that take my other kexts form my Downlaods and put them into Extra Folder, you also can take my DSDT if you like to... Install Realteak Driver...
Run Kextutility and restart.

I always do remote installs from an existing OSX to an empty harddisk. This takes only 10 Minutes to have a complete fresh working Installation of Snow Leo! If you do not have an exisiting OSX or a second HDD you have to go the USB Way!

I pretty sure you will succeed!
As I can tell you, time after time you will get more familiar with Kexts, DSDT edeting, etc.
It just need some time to figure out for your self what is important and what is not...

Thanks, that gave me a little progress but I still can get to the Installer.
I deleted the dsdt.aml file and I didn't had to add IOATAFamily.kext because it was already there.
Now I get pass the IOAPIC, I get a bunch of warings and errors:

Bug: launchctl.c:3557 (23930):17: ioctl(s6, SIOCAIFADDR_IN6, &ifra6) != -1
  Creating RAM Disk for /Volumes
  ...
  stat: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: stat: No Such file or directory
  mount: realpath /Library/ColorSync: No such file or directory
  chown: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: No such file or directory
  chmod: /Library/ColorSync/Profile/Displays: No such file or directory
  nvram: Error getting variable - 'boot-args': (iokit/common) data was not found
  using 64-bit bootcache playlist
  BootCacheControl: could not unlink playlist /var/db/BootCache.playlist: Read-only file system
  Bug: launchctl.c:2325 (23930):30: (dbfd = open(g_job_overrides_db_path, O_RDONLY | O_EXLOCK | O_CREAT, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR)) != -1
  USBF:   6.199   AppleUSBUHCI[0xffffff806e3cb000]::start unable to initialize UIM
  systemShutdown false
  BootCache: hit rate below threshold (35 hits on 1824 lookups)
  BootCache: hit rate below threshold (35 hits on 1825 lookups)
  BootCache: could not terminate cache on bad hitrate
  NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
  ** AppleSMBusPCI::start failed to get acpi path for provider
  Previous Shutdown Cause: 0
  DSMOS has arrived
  ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out
  AppleTyMCEDriver::start coreVIDPID = 0xffffffff Number of packages = 1 Number of cpus = 8 memory monitor trough MCA
  AppleRTL8169Ethernet: Ethernet address 00:23............ (hidden for privacy;) )

And then it hangs again

Thanks for your help


@NeedForSpeed1973
Just take my File Package with my DSDT and the you sould be able to boot up without IONEtworkingFamily.kext! With DSDT is the better method to get a full working OSX, cause it is much faster! ICH10 is fixed with my DSDT, also you will be able to add a second GPU if you like to...

#19
rpgman1

rpgman1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Any way to install a USB wireless adapter onto Snow Leopard? Mine is a Linksys WUSB600N v.1 wireless adapter.

#20
NeedForSpeed1973

NeedForSpeed1973

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

@NeedForSpeed1973
Just take my File Package with my DSDT and the you sould be able to boot up without IONEtworkingFamily.kext! With DSDT is the better method to get a full working OSX, cause it is much faster! ICH10 is fixed with my DSDT, also you will be able to add a second GPU if you like to...

That's what i did (as i said in my first post) but unfortunately with your setup my system hangs at

Not loading kext com.apple.driver.ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin - not found or kextd not available in early boot
IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 64:87
IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 88:111

Thanks to Nero's suggestions I've managed to have the system hang a little bit later (see my second post) but still no chance to reach installator screenshot.

May it be the fact that I have 3 vid cards installed? Should I remove 2, install and then readd. (I don't need Triple-SLI in Leo, but i wanna keep it for Windows 7 partition that i use for gaming).

Thanks for your help to all of you folks!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy