MSI X58 SL Audio (Alc888s)

tkm795

18 posts in this topic

First of all, for everyone who gets to this post looking for a guide to installing SL on an MSI X58 Pro, there's a very helpful guide on InfiniteMac for another MSI board that worked for me.

Basically you need to install SL from a working leopard partition, install chameleon rc3, patch dsdt and install your kexts.(OpenHaltRestart,NullCPUPM, fakesmc, PlatformUUID, and IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.)

Now to get to the point, I've got Snow Leopard working and booting well, but my audio isn't working. I'm a bit of a newbie, so could anyone give me a little help? the two i've found have various methods, and are both for gigabyte versions of the ALC888. Is there any difference between the 888 and the 888S?

Also, is anyone else having speed problems with Snow Leopard?

I was of the impression my computer was quite speedy, what with the i7 and x58, but snow leopard isn't running very zippy.

Thanks in advance.

I just realized I posted in the wrong section by accident, sorry. :(

If the mod could move this, that'd be great.

Tkm795 Hi, I'm new to this macworld, my English is very bad so forgive my mistakes, not many people in these forums that have these MSI X58 boards, but I have one and could not install any Mac OS, and is more difficult even to have your same problem, but if you send and explain, with pictures, how installing Mac OS on the MSI X58, insurance and more people install it may help you with your problem, apologizes for not help this time with your problem but I hope to do in the future.