Jump to content

[Guide & Boot CD] D-Series Latitude/w NVIDIA or GMA950 and Intel Dual Core Retail Installs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1331 replies to this topic

#1061
mac-newbie21

mac-newbie21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

This worked great and solved my booting into win 7 issue!

The only thing i have an issue now is having to use the D620SLV1.iso disk to boot into chameleon. I am not sure why it is not booting from the installed chameleon as i ran the post_install.command file that you are supposed to when installing 10.6.

Well i reinstalled the post_install.command and it booted to either but again the win 7 boot got an error and would not load. So i redid the terminal commands in mac then redid bootloader steps in win 7, along with cmd prompt steps. Now it is working along with chameleon!!


Good to hear.

#1062
bertybassett

bertybassett

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Has anyone has any success with snow leopard, a d420 and sleep? If so did you use patched DSDT?

When I tried it failed to sleep.



Gentle bump. So has no one tried this model of laptop?

#1063
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Hey, i did some searching but didn't have any luck with trying to find out which key is mapped to be the mac fn key. Any help is appreciated.




BTW, i should say this now, Insanelymac and this thread are great! thanks to all who have posted in the past and made it able to run oxs on my D620!

#1064
Temaki

Temaki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Hey, i did some searching but didn't have any luck with trying to find out which key is mapped to be the mac fn key. Any help is appreciated.




BTW, i should say this now, Insanelymac and this thread are great! thanks to all who have posted in the past and made it able to run oxs on my D620!


it doesnt matter. i pressed a random button then it failed to recognize that key, but it continued installing anyway. and i got no problem with that.

#1065
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

it doesnt matter. i pressed a random button then it failed to recognize that key, but it continued installing anyway. and i got no problem with that.


no offense, but huh!?! This has nothing to do with installation (as I have successfully installed it) but to what key represents the Fn key. That is what I am wanting to find out.

#1066
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Nevermind, I learned that it is the <alt> key on the D620.

#1067
rage12345

rage12345

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Disclaimer:
Back up before doing anything and know how to boot in -s mode to edit stuff in your /Extra/Extension folder in case you can't get things to work. Don't blame me if you screw up and this is probably easier if you know how to use command line.

I did this a few days ago, so hopefully I didn't miss a step.
Thanks to everyone who actually did the work, I did nothing except gather information from this forum.

NOTES:
I am running 10.6.3 on a D820 GMA950 w/a 32-bit cpu (T2600) at 1680x1050. I have QE/CI, ability to change resolutions on internal and external display, NO MORE ARTIFACTS, and the ability to rotate an external display (i.e., portrait mode for reading/writing). I can watch 1080p mkv videos in Plex with no stutter.

Here's how:
1. Installed SL using the method outlined here and apply all the updates, rebooting when prompted. After installing 10.6.3, QE/CI is gone. Don't ask for help getting to this point, this thread is filled with how to do that.

2. Go into /Extra/Extensions and remove these files:
AppleIntel*
IOGraphicsFamily.kext
Natit.kext

3. run rebuild_mkext.command in the /Extra/Extensions folder

4. Using OSX86Tools, add the GFX string for intel gma 950 (laptop) to com.apple.boot.plist IN YOUR /EXTRA/EXTENSIONS file. If you forget to do this, your internal display will not be detected once the desktop loads and you'll need to plug in an external display. Mine reads:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string>arch=i386</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>y</string>
	<key>device-properties</key>
	<string>6d0000000100000001000000610000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff0400
100000006d006f00640065006c0000000b000000474d4120393530200000004100410050004c002c004800610073005
00061006e0065006c0000000800000001000000</string>
	<key>Legacy Logo</key>
	<string>yes</string>
 	<key>Timeout</key>
		<string>1</string>
	</dict>
</plist>


5a. Download and install Screen Sleeper Solution http://www.mediafire.com/?kjkdvzy2nnd (this fixes the black screen).
And/or
5b. Go into System Preferences, enable Expose and set at least one active screen corner to "put display to sleep" (this is more of a failsafe if you need to wake up the black screen--if you get a black screen on boot move the mouse to the corner, wait a second and move it away).

6. Cross your fingers and reboot.

Known issues:
If you plan to use multiple monitors, by default mirror mode is used when you plug in. This results in a garbled green screen. To get around this, install MirrorDisplay before plugging in an external display and read this:
http://www.fabiancan...MirrorDisplays/

If you use a dock, the DVI port doesn't seem to work (although VGA is fine).

#1068
real_sinjon

real_sinjon

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Location:UK

Gentle bump. So has no one tried this model of laptop?


Installed using the OP cd method on a d420 that I use for my daughter. Everything worked fine except sleep/wake and it seems that is never going to work on this model. So while the laptop was very useable & stable the inability to just close the lid then come back to it was quite important for me. Not so much for other people but it was for me with a six year old using the machine.

So I have put Win7 on it for now. If ever the sleep/wake issue was solved I would revert back in a shot.

Never tried DSDT. I just don't feel confident or knowledgeable enough but may its time to start tinkering again.

Hope this helps.

#1069
Rainclock

Rainclock

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
This was meant to be a private message to Leppy but apparently he has it disabled :(

Hey dude.

Found your guide on the forum about 3 weeks ago and was really excited to try it out.

To make a reeeaaaally long story short, I ended up uninstalling my main OS (Windows 7) and had two Mac OS X Extended (Journaled) partitions.

On one I had installed iPC 10.5.8 which worked like a charm.
On the other, I restored the dmg of Snow Leopard Retail Installation, and thought I would be able to use your Snow Leopard boot CD to boot into it and install.

It didn't work out so great, I can't boot into the Retail Snow Leopard install disc. It hangs at the white apple screen with the circular thingy.

So basically I have:
  • A working 10.5.8 (iPC)
  • A partition with Snow Leopard Retail Installation DMG burned onto it.
  • Your Boot-132 iso for 10.6.
What's my next step?

#1070
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Did u read the info on the first few posts? If not, you need to.

For u to install with these install discs, it must be installed in the first partition (that is the first partition must be mac). This worked like a champ for me.

Only issue I ran into was getting chameleon to boot both and not get a win 7 boot error. But on prior page (53) I got instruction on just how to fix issue.

hope this helps, if not, just disregard.

#1071
Rainclock

Rainclock

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
thanks for the response man.
yeah i'm trying to install on the first partition, no dice.

#1072
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
OK what is your laptop model? I have a D620, but knowing the model may help others help you out.

If it is one of the following;

quoting leppy's 2nd post of this thread.

OS X 10.6.0 (Snow Leopard) Retail Installation Procedure

Tested:

•Latitude D620/D820/D420 with GMA950 Graphics and Broadcom Wifi
•Latitude D620/D630 with NVIDIA Graphics and Broadcom Wifi

Will probably work on ANY D series Latitude with Intel GMA950 or Nvidia graphics and Intel dual core processor


I think you said you used the

So basically I have:

•A working 10.5.8 (iPC)
•A partition with Snow Leopard Retail Installation DMG burned onto it.
•Your Boot-132 iso for 10.6.


I think you need to use the D620SLV1.iso, not the boot-132 iso and follow the following instructions from the 2nd post of leppy's;

Installation of OS X 10.6.0 Retail DVD

1. Start computer with bootable CD made from D620SLV1.iso cd image. No flags required.
- When Chameleon boot menu appears, eject the boot CD
- Insert OS X 10.6.0 RETAIL DVD ONLY. Wait for DVD Machine to read DVD and hit F5. You may have to retry F5 a few times until the OS X Installation DVD spools up and gets read.
- Select OSX Install from the Chameleon menu once it appears.
2. Follow installation prompt:.
- Before installing, make sure to start the DISK UTILITY (from go>utilities) to create a GUID HD partition and install OS X on the new partition. IMPORTANT: In order for the automated Chameleon install to work during the post install, you must install on the FIRST partition of the FIRST drive. If you have a bunch of drives installed and don't know how to get this done, then I suggest you remove other drives during the installation and post install procedure.
- Suggestion: After partitioning, and at customize stage, de-select other language translations (other than default). This will save about 2GB disk space and make installation and every backup thereafter 2 GB faster.
Note: At installation completion, OS X may say that installation failed because it was unable to mount the disk and prompt to reboot. This is normal and OS X is installed. I suspect that this is because I never selected a boot partition, but I never bothered to prove it out.
3. To run OS X for the first time, Reinsert D620SLV1 boot CD and Reboot. Select your new installation partition from the Chameleon menu and boot.

10.6.0 Post Installation

You will want to boot from the hard drive and enable both cores. To do this, with the boot CD still in the drive after your first boot up, do the following:

1. Open the boot CD.
2. Double click on post_install.cmd.
3. Follow the simple prompts.
4. When the job completes, reboot.

If desired, download and install the 10.6.1 updates from software updates in OS X.


Again i am new to this and if i am way off, just disregard. Also I am assuming you are using one of the models leppy described above.

#1073
BoyMZee

BoyMZee

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I have a Dell D620 and full legal retail Snow Leopard 10.6.3, purchased today.
I tried the D620SLV1 boot disk, followed by booting the SL DVD.
The Install DVD is accessed a few times, but I never get anything past the gray apple screen and spinner.

Thanks for any helpl.

#1074
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I think you need to start with 10.6.0 then work your way up to 10.6.1 then do 10.6.2 and then stop. 10.6.3 i think is very temperamental. You can find a backup copy of 10.6.0 on torrent sites like demonoid etc... PM me if you want more info.

#1075
noisey

noisey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Well, I am borrowing my wife's D620 this week for a conference (her machine has a working battery - my D820 does not). Luckily, hers has the DW1390 card and the NVidia card as well. I swapped hard drives and prayed....

And everything worked out perfectly. Been using the 620 with no issues at all. It's pretty alright. I may not give it back!!

So here's a question for you guys - did we ever get to the point where sleep works with the 620? Anyone with the same config as I've got (DW1390, NVS110M, blah blah) have any success with it?

#1076
winfan

winfan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi Leppy,

Thank you very much for your SL boot CD. It worked perfectly, and allowed me to installed retail SL on my D620. After updated to 10.6.2, it still runs perfectly. Then I am eager to try your experimental method since my D620 is same as yours (Bios version: A10; Graphic card: GMA950). I think that I can use your dsdt.aml.

I downloaded d620in_03022010_e.zip, and followed your instruction:

1.Backup your old extra folder if you have modified it.
2. Replace your /Extra folder with the contents of this zip file.
3. Move boot from the new /Extra folder to /
4. Run rebuild_mkext
5. Stick with 32 bit for now - 64 bit plists are not set up.

Then I restart and boot with –v, but it stuck at “Still waiting for root device”. From the message on the screen, it seems that it cannot find UUID. Could you give me suggestions so that I can fix this problem?

Thank you very much for your time.

#1077
consolation

consolation

    I am not expendable, I'm not stupid and I'm not going.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 878 posts

So here's a question for you guys - did we ever get to the point where sleep works with the 620? Anyone with the same config as I've got (DW1390, NVS110M, blah blah) have any success with it?



Yes, use graphics plist string and patched DSDT.aml .

People struggling with multi boot, can I redirect you to this POST

Detailed information on how to do both things is either in this thread, or found if you search this board and the intertubes...

#1078
littledragon

littledragon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

So here's a question for you guys - did we ever get to the point where sleep works with the 620? Anyone with the same config as I've got (DW1390, NVS110M, blah blah) have any success with it?


Sleep's been working fine for me. It's pretty hit and miss it seems like.

#1079
heyyouguys

heyyouguys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Sleep's been working fine for me. It's pretty hit and miss it seems like.



Which kext did you use to get it to work?

#1080
littledragon

littledragon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Which kext did you use to get it to work?



http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1449620

There's a link there to all the kexts I'm using. These kexts so far have fixed everything problem I ran into like crackling sound, sleep, etc.. There may still be problems that I don't know about but what I need to work is working just fine for me.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy