I am a noob and want to try this, but would like to ask advice.

5 posts in this topic

I have been a professional audio editor for almost 20 years for multiple international radio programs, and do a little video editing as well. I was recently laid off from my job, where I did all my editing on a mac pro, but all I have at home is a 6 year old pc clunker. I also do a radio program on the side using digidesign pro-tools, but ALL my archives were saved at my old office in mac format... and I cannot open them now on my pc using pro-tools (I should have saved them dual format... but it is 4 years worth of shows where I never needed to do it at home until now.) Obviously, I have no job and am looking, but this part time radio show must go on... so I MUST get myself working on the mac side of pro-tools within a month without spending the money for an equivalent mac-pro at home that was in my office. Fortunately, the radio supervisor is willing to do a trade... work for equipment, but I must keep my budget to around $1500 or so. I am a noob at hackintoshing... this is my first endeavor, but I want to find hardware that will provide the least amount of hurdles to get it running stable. This is what I come to you all asking for advice about... what hardware makers seem to be most issue free based on the specs I am looking to use. I have looked at the osx86wiki, but it lists everything under the planet and is like reading greek while trying to simply find a successful piece to consider adding. Anyway, please allow me to list what I am wanting to try making, and if you have suggestions, I would be SOOOO grateful.

at least a 2.4 quad core with 8 gig of ram, 2 1T hard drives, a fairly powerful graphics card for video editing (if I want to run final cut pro in future), wifi, and working sound.