Jump to content

Rebranding Atheros AR5006EG to a Vanilla Card


  • Please log in to reply
222 replies to this topic

#161
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

did you try 0087 with any results?
Also a dsdt modification with the following code in your slot memory address may help:

Device (RP06)
			 {
				 Name (_ADR, 0xINSERTYOURPCIPORTFULLADDRESSHERE*****) //see note bellow
				 OperationRegion (P6CS, PCI_Config, 0x40, 0xA0) 
				 Field (P6CS, AnyAcc, NoLock, WriteAsZeros)
				 {
							 Offset (0x20), 
							 Offset (0x22), 
					 PSP6,   1, 
							 Offset (0x9C), 
						 ,   30, 
					 HPS6,   1, 
					 PMS6,   1
				 }
 
				 Device (ARPT)
				 {
					 Name (_ADR, 0x00)
					 Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
					 {
						 0x09, 
						 0x03
					 })
					 Name (_SUN, 0x05)
				 }
				 Method (_PRT, 0, NotSerialized)
				 {
						 Return (Package (0x04)
						 {
							 Package (0x04)
							 {
								 0xFFFF, 
								 0x00, 
								 0x00, 
								 0x11
							 }, 
 
							 Package (0x04)
							 {
								 0xFFFF, 
								 0x01, 
								 0x00, 
								 0x12
							 }, 
 
							 Package (0x04)
							 {
								 0xFFFF, 
								 0x02, 
								 0x00, 
								 0x13
							 }, 
 
							 Package (0x04)
							 {
								 0xFFFF, 
								 0x03, 
								 0x00, 
								 0x10
							 }
						 })
					 }
				 }
***** The "root port" (RP) in use should correspond to the address of your board. for instance if you have it showing in ioregisterexplorer as 1C,3 then you should do try it as 0x001C0003 (this would be under the PEX hub @ 1C)
If you have it under the PCI hub (1E) at, for instance line 4 (1E,4) then you should use 0x001E0004 and so on...

This is, of course, based on ICH10 standard memory addresses

if the above code does not work or hook your system somehow, you can also try to remove the operational region

and use only the rest of the code.

Note that this is no pdf based DSDT injection, and is used on apple desktops ("workstations"/MacPros) to insert these bits on their machine.
It is highly recommended to plug your card at pci-e last line (001C0005) (1C,5) when using this.


my port is RP01 and im using partial code from the king 'we want your hardware ids" post. with the codingrobots vendor subven. 1014

i was curious how i could enable rp06 in the enable disable register to make it more mac efi like. but its running rp01 rp03 rp04
cause rp06 looks like the winner in pci config space/ mem instead of rp01-5

i havent tried 87 in dsdt yet. but thats usually like a 168c,24 card ar5008 isnt it ? N type. i tried 86 cause its what 1c calls for in apple. but i noticed in snow theres 1014 !. . or was it added by someone not apple ? hmm i have both 10.58 and 10.6.5

BTW i have a few cards :) ar928x AW-NE772 dev ido 002a. also ar5bxb72 apple real card. and ar5bxb6 fujitsu dev id C1 in dsdt im injecting what codingrobot has. same issue.

HERES my issue and codingrobot says he fixed with rebrand.. i guess rebrand it is

#162
cartri

cartri

    Just a Cone

  • Donators
  • 407 posts
  • Location:Brazil

my port is RP01 and im using partial code from the king 'we want your hardware ids" post. with the codingrobots vendor subven. 1014

i was curious how i could enable rp06 in the enable disable register to make it more mac efi like. but its running rp01 rp03 rp04
cause rp06 looks like the winner in pci config space/ mem instead of rp01-5

i havent tried 87 in dsdt yet. but thats usually like a 168c,24 card ar5008 isnt it ? N type. i tried 86 cause its what 1c calls for in apple. but i noticed in snow theres 1014 !. . or was it added by someone not apple ? hmm i have both 10.58 and 10.6.5

BTW i have a few cards :) ar928x AW-NE772 dev ido 002a. also ar5bxb72 apple real card. and ar5bxb6 fujitsu dev id 0021 in dsdt im injecting what codingrobot has. same isue. i havent injected 280 yet.

Really sorry, I could not get the picture on what was your system.
I guess you are talking about a laptop?
Which system are you emulating?

EDIT:
Just to add, it depends on the emulated system. For instance, in a MacPro3 or Macmini 1/2 RP01 is referring to the GPU port, which was at that address (1C).
In macpro4/5 apple uses all 4 slots in fixed north bridge controlled addresses instead of hub sub-addresses (1C/PCIe, 1E/PCI32bit) and leave those for embedded devices and for the mini-pci-e slot which is located at the 6th lane of 1C (Pex5/RP06) so the system does not confound it with the old RPs (now named IOUs directly linked to the North Bridge, while the hubs - 1E and 1C - are handled by the south bridge.)

#163
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Really sorry, I could not get the picture on what was your system.
I guess you are talking about a laptop?
Which system are you emulating?


inspiron 1520 in my sig.. its mbp3,1 at moment. with chameleon2 rc5 anvdy valve version.
but the rp06 i have seen in mpb3,1 but my dsdt is loading the rp01,03,04 and i noticed in RP06 is different pci memory config wich might just fix this. ( i think) but im about to try rebrand the card. i did it bfore wth no issues on a bad model to rebrand ar5bxb63-h (hp) g only. now i have a,b,g ar5bxb6 fujitsu wll4080
LSPCI
0b:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Unknown device [10cf:139c]	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-	Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 17	Region 0: Memory at f9ff0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)	Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2		Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)		Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-	Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable-		Address: fee00000  Data: 4096	Capabilities: [60] Express (v1) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00		DevCap:	MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <128ns, L1 <2us			ExtTag- AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE- FLReset-		DevCtl:	Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-			RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-			MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes		DevSta:	CorrErr+ UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-		LnkCap:	Port #0, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <512ns, L1 <64us			ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-		LnkCtl:	ASPM L0s L1 Enabled; RCB 128 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+			ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-		LnkSta:	Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-	Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Mask- TabSize=1		Vector table: BAR=0 offset=00000000		PBA: BAR=0 offset=00000000	Capabilities: [100] #168c	Capabilities: [001] #1c16	Capabilities: [470] #4b	Capabilities: [101] #1c16	Capabilities: [470] <chain looped>
edit. im using atheros in cellphone slot .. the wlan slot is RP02 and i heard it has issues sometimes. so i turned off wifi and switch is set to cell only
my prior work arround was to have both broadcom dev 4315 in wlan and works in osx with info.plist edit to add 4315 next to 4313. and cell slot atheros for linux (not workin in osx).
i guess ill keep same way if no fix found.

#164
cartri

cartri

    Just a Cone

  • Donators
  • 407 posts
  • Location:Brazil

inspiron 1520 in my sig.. its mbp3,1 at moment. with chameleon2 rc5 anvdy valve version.
but the rp06 i have seen in mpb3,1 but my dsdt is loading the rp01,03,04 and i noticed in RP06 is different pci memory config wich might just fix this. ( i think) but im about to try rebrand the card. i did it bfore wth no issues on a bad model to rebrand ar5bxb63-h (hp) g only. now i have a,b,g ar5bxb6 fujitsu wll4080

edit. im using atheros in cellphone slot .. the wlan slot is RP02 and i heard it has issues sometimes. so i turned off wifi and switch is set to cell only
my prior work arround was to have both broadcom dev 4315 in wlan and works in osx with info.plist edit to add 4315 next to 4313. and cell slot atheros for linux (not workin in osx).
i guess ill keep same way if no fix found.


Ok, so we are back to 945 and ich 7
sorry for not noting your sig.
I don't think i can help much on your case even cause my english doesnt help me a lot (cell slot?), but if your mini-pcie slot is at 1c0002 you could only change it rewriting stuff at early boot stage - dsdt replacement really does not help a lot in this case

#165
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Ok, so we are back to 945 and ich 7
sorry for not noting your sig.
I don't think i can help much on your case even cause my english doesnt help me a lot (cell slot?), but if your mini-pcie slot is at 1c0002 you could only change it rewriting stuff at early boot stage - dsdt replacement really does not help a lot in this case


its ich8
cell wwan cdma card slot for cell broadband.

im going try an older bios... way older! to see if it pci config space issues. (saw one of the updates fixed compat with some broadcoms)

someone had it working once in a different dell. they said something with chameleon2 rc2 and above.

the only card that actually almost works is the Ar9280 AW-NE772 .. doesnt give me that offset 100 error. but shows connections and stop showing them and wont connect to any. timed out. ( this card wont work with older madwifi drivers as its ath9k)

#166
cartri

cartri

    Just a Cone

  • Donators
  • 407 posts
  • Location:Brazil

its ich8


I did not research, only took the standard for that time. both 7 and 8 were used in 945.
Sorry if somehow you felt underestimated during this conversation. I should leave now.
Again, sorry.

#167
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

I did not research, only took the standard for that time. both 7 and 8 were used in 945.
Sorry if somehow you felt underestimated during this conversation. I should leave now.
Again, sorry.


thanks anyways.. i was just curious what causes this error with non ath9k cards in dell laptops.
i figured u the bios god might know what can cause this.. so im happy u gave me input.

Edit i found a win issue similar to this.
Error Type: NT_STATUSError Code: 0xc0000420Error Text: Error 0xc0000420Message 11/2/2007 12:17:33.204 Error accessing extendedconfiguration space. Offset 0x100 read: 0xFFFFFFFF.Message 11/2/2007 12:17:33.204 This error may happen forvarious reasons. Please check for the following:Message 11/2/2007 12:17:33.204 - The device under test has avalid value at offset 0x100Message 11/2/2007 12:17:33.204 - On X86/X64 systems, MCFG isimplemented per PCI Firmware Specification 3.0 v0.9 or greaterMessage 11/2/2007 12:17:33.205 - On IA64, SAL version 3.2 orgreater is implementedMessage 11/2/2007 12:17:33.205 - Some systems force the OS tofallback to CFC/CF8 method or to avoid accessing extended configurationspace when using MCFG in order to workaround known issues.Message 11/2/2007 12:17:33.205 In such a case, for devicelogos, please use a different system. For system logo, please consult themanufacturer.End Test 11/2/2007 12:17:33.205 PCI-Express capabilities listResult: Fail


#168
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
SUCCESS! finaly rebranded my wll4080 exactly as 2nd post codingrobot i owe you! 7 months into this and finally it works.
p.s. dont try to rebrand the first section of rom... only the middle section like codingrobot shows.. works depending on your card.!
i did both spots and works better.

#169
rafik24

rafik24

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Houston we got a problem with wll4080 AR5BXB6 from 10.6.0 works nice then to 10.6.5 update... kp from atheros kext. in 32 bit. have not tried 64 or atherosfix.kext yet.
EDIT 1-2-2011: fresh install updated and no kernel panic but no IBM id 1014 in AirportAtheros21.kext.. added and now it works. when it wants to.

p.s. it works in 10.5.6 OOB then 10.5.8 it disappears from the info.plist of atheros kext hmm.. anyways i added id 1014 and it works always with no fail.


Hi LatinMcGyver75,

I have an atheros 168c:1c and i looked all over the place to get this piece of hw working,
i kind of get it recognized using older IO80211Familly but it seem outdated and it is missing lib symbols so there is no way to enable the airport device.

could you please be kind enough to give us the ibm ids as well as an explanation on how to rebrand.

I have been following the first thread and also codingrobot posts but i can't figure out the right HOWTO.

I already killed the same card so i would be really pleased if you could spare some time in giving the info.

All the Best,

Rafik

#170
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Hi LatinMcGyver75,

I have an atheros 168c:1c and i looked all over the place to get this piece of hw working,
i kind of get it recognized using older IO80211Familly but it seem outdated and it is missing lib symbols so there is no way to enable the airport device.

could you please be kind enough to give us the ibm ids as well as an explanation on how to rebrand.

I have been following the first thread and also codingrobot posts but i can't figure out the right HOWTO.

I already killed the same card so i would be really pleased if you could spare some time in giving the info.

All the Best,

Rafik


its hard to kill.. at least for me.
trick is see the codingrobot says @ 0x8x look at the chart up top in 1st post for locations.
when i first rebranded i did wrong spots. way in the beginning of chart.
then i noticed he only modified in middle not begining.
  • Device Class from 200 to 280 (at 0x85)
  • Device ID from 001c to 1014 (at 0x82)
  • these bellow vary by brand of card
  • Subvendor ID from 1458 to 1014 (at 0x8a)
  • Subdevice ID from e917 to 058a (at 0x8b)look at chart for locations 0x8a and 0x8b to see if it matches your sub id's you wrote down or from lspci
UPDATE: i changed regdomain to 10 (us) and now it worked without devicemergenub. now locale is still unknown but it works and dont forget to add the 1014 to atheros kext

EDIT: i spoke too soon, snow doesnt like it .. worked 1 or 2 times then no connect again. but works fine in 10.5.8

Conclusion:
i rebranded the first part of rom also with subvendor and it became more stable in 10.5.8 (locations 0x07 0x08 0x09 in chart) 
snow doesnt like these older cards. (random no connect.. reboot and it might work. most times didnt)

 so best bet is AR9280 (AR5BXB9) in apple. the real apple subvendor id might turn on special rom features for osx that cause problems sometimes. 
so i have AW-NE772 Azurewave AR5BXB92 and i used a tool called RCU.exe to change regdomain to 0x0 then it started working
 (snow only.. no driver by apple for 10.5)
reason i use atheros is cause in linux i use older madwifi live cd doesnt support AR5BXB9 

in otherwords best is broadcom BCM94321MC . rebrand subvendor id's. and no more problems.

by the way.. if you have a atheros ar5bxb63 ..dont bother! its not going to work as the rom is different and will say unable to attach Hal ( cant find the rom properly)
ar5bxb6 a/b/g works

#171
paleajed

paleajed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
It has been said many times but some of us have these AR5BXB63 cards in our laptops. Is there really no way of rebranding these to make them accessible as Airport cards. They only have g protocol functionality.

Or is it impossible?

#172
Murrfk

Murrfk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Has anyone found a way to deal with the:

MAC revision 0xffff is not supported!

error?

I read that:

If you get the message MAC revision 0xffff is not supported! it means that some other module, likely ath_hal and/or ath_pci took over your card.

Any way to prevent this? I can't get by step 4!

#173
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Has anyone found a way to deal with the:

MAC revision 0xffff is not supported!

error?

I read that:

If you get the message MAC revision 0xffff is not supported! it means that some other module, likely ath_hal and/or ath_pci took over your card.

Any way to prevent this? I can't get by step 4!


its trying to read a part of rom that empty. your card doesnt have proper rom structure(a/b/g? or just G ?) for osx to read its info like mac. get a dif card.. broadcom is best bet.

#174
hangler

hangler

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Has anyone found a way to deal with the:

MAC revision 0xffff is not supported!

error?

I read that:

If you get the message MAC revision 0xffff is not supported! it means that some other module, likely ath_hal and/or ath_pci took over your card.

Any way to prevent this? I can't get by step 4!


What happens is that you are installing an old version of Madwifi. In order to use ath_info with AR5BXB63, you need a newer version than the madwifi.sh installs. Look, just change this code in the original madwifi.sh posted at the beginning of the thread, and try again.

# Get the necessary drivers from www.stchman.comsudo wget [url="http://snapshots.madwifi-project.org/madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6/madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r4126-20100324.tar.gz"]http://snapshots.madwifi-project.org/madwi...20100324.tar.gz[/url]# unpack the tarballsudo tar -xzf /usr/src/madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r4126-20100324.tar.gz# Change to the folder that the tarball createdcd /usr/src/madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r4126-20100324

Rebranding was not a solution for me, I tried a lot, and I mean a lot of combinations of IDs, Subdev IDs, etc,etc, and I never had it working on Mac OS 10.6.7.

My AR5007EG or AR5BXB63 presents this data:

<class_id> 0200
<vendor_id> 168c
<device_id> 001c
<subven_id> 105b
<subdev_id> e008
<memory_loc> 55200000

I'm not giving up yet, but is kinda boring after 16 hours trying new values and then checking if MacOs see the card. =)
Good Luck.

#175
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
cant rebrand b63.. its just not gona work. its like putting a kids brain in albert einsteins head. (rom is very empty cause hardware isnt there)

just buy a different card.. bxb62 !! that works i also had good results with snow leo and ar5b91 with subvendor dsdt inject 0x8F. (no madwifi in linux only compatwireless my wifiway :( works beautiful)

#176
Iki Tenggo

Iki Tenggo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i'm using linuxmint live cd on toshiba satellite L310 to rebranding my atheros AR5007EG,
on linuxmint show :
mint@mint > lspci
08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Unknown device 004e
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
Memory at 80800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Count=1 Masked-
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
Kernel driver in use: ath5k
Kernel modules: ath5k

while on iAtkos v7 :
08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Unknown device 004e
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
Memory at <unassigned> (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Mask- TabSize=1
Capabilities: [100] #168c
Capabilities: [001] #1c16
Capabilities: [060] #9010
Capabilities: [001] <chain looped>

on iAtkos v7, atheros not assigned to some memory address that should be at 0x80800000.
or something wrong with AirportAtheros.kext so the mini pci-e module/driver (i.e ath5k on linuxmint) could'nt load.

i think, it's same problem with LiquidSnake have it.

Many thx for your quick answer, now i have the card looking like:

02:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5006EG 802.11 b/g Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
lspci -v :
02:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5006EG 802.11 b/g Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Device 0086
	Flags: fast devsel
	Memory at <unassigned> (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled]
	Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
	Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable-
	Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
	Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Mask- TabSize=1
	Capabilities: [100] #168c
	Capabilities: [001] #1c16
now i have this on dmesg: (same as before rebranding.)
ath_attach: devid 0x1c
unable to attach hardware; HAL status 13
start [/SourceCache/AirPortDriverAtheros5424/AirPortDriverAtheros5424-314.43.1/src/driver/AtherosController.cpp:516] loaded unsuccessfully

any suggests?



#177
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

i'm using linuxmint live cd on toshiba satellite L310 to rebranding my atheros AR5007EG,
on linuxmint show :
mint@mint > lspci
08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Unknown device 004e
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
Memory at 80800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Count=1 Masked-
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
Kernel driver in use: ath5k
Kernel modules: ath5k

while on iAtkos v7 :
08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Unknown device 004e
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
Memory at <unassigned> (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Mask- TabSize=1
Capabilities: [100] #168c
Capabilities: [001] #1c16
Capabilities: [060] #9010
Capabilities: [001] <chain looped>

on iAtkos v7, atheros not assigned to some memory address that should be at 0x80800000.
or something wrong with AirportAtheros.kext so the mini pci-e module/driver (i.e ath5k on linuxmint) could'nt load.

i think, it's same problem with LiquidSnake have it.

non rebrandable card. good luck.

#178
macintrash

macintrash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

This is important to know since Apple doesn't use only one Subdevice ID. So their b/g and a/b/g IDs differ and you will have to replace your old Subdevice ID by the respective one from Apple, which are:

  • 0086 for a/b/g cards
  • 004e for b/g cards


For Knuth's sake, 004e isn't even from an Atheros card... it's from a Broadcom Airport Extreme.

Subsystem 14e4:4320 106b:004e Airport Extreme
BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller to be precise.

There might be more useful:
VEN_168C DEV_0024 SUBSYS_00000000
 ATHER.DeviceDesc.3072		= "Atheros AR5008X Wireless Network Adapter"
 
 VEN_168C DEV_001C SUBSYS_0086106B
 ATHER.DeviceDesc.3062		= "Atheros AR5006EXS Wireless Network Adapter"
 
 VEN_168C DEV_0024 SUBSYS_0087106B
 ATHER.DeviceDesc.3072		= "Atheros AR5008X Wireless Network Adapter"
 
 VEN_168C DEV_002A SUBSYS_008F106B
 ATHER.DeviceDesc.3091		= "Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter"
 
 VEN_168C DEV_0030 SUBSYS_009A106B
 ATHER.DeviceDesc.938x		= "Atheros AR938x Wireless Network Adapter"



#179
naton

naton

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
I followed the above tutorial on an Atheros AR5007EG / AR5BXB63. I managed to change the Class_ID, SubVen_ID, and the SubDev_ID. After reboot and running (sudo lspci -vvnn) my card is detected by Ubuntu as:

Network Controller [0280]
Network Adapter [1680:001c] [168c:001c]
Sybsystem: Apple Computer Inc [106b:004e]

The wifi works perfectly under Ubuntu but It's not working anymore in Win7. Also Snow Leopard is still not detecting it. What further steps I should do to get it to work in SL and work again in Windows.

Thanks.


Edit:
I forget to add that I had to delete IO80211Family.kext as it was given me kernel panics and double panics.

#180
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
so 168c became a new vendor ? not atheros 168c... rather 1680





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy