itakos Leopard nVidia PNY 7600 GS 512 meg CI yes QE no

TyCeilican

3 posts in this topic

I'm currently running itakos Leopard 10.5.2 and I'm using Compaq Presario everything works fine. Except I'm having problems getting full Quartz Extreme support. I'm getting resolution options 800 x 600 up to 1024 by 768 with the ability to change hertz from 75 to 60. I'm fine with the resolution on my better monitors I get better resolution options. Full resolution infact. I get CI support but no QE. It is driving me a bit crazy. Sad part is the only reason I want full support is so that I can run WoW. I know but its my crack of choice.

I'm currently using the NVinject.kext and NVinjectGo.Kext from the NVinject 0.2.1.

The PC works wonderfully and I like the fact that its not running a MS os.

Anyone who has been able to get the PNY nVidia 7600 GS 512 meg to get full support? I would love to know how you did it step by step as I'm not a total noobie to the mac world but I'm not all that experienced getting them to work on well non mac hardware.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Well to no surprise, my addiction to get this work has meant a few hours of non stop hacking. And the solution was relatively simple. http://nvinject.free.fr 512meg rom update was the fix.

1. Getting a copy of my firm ware was fun, not very difficult because I had an XP Live CD, and a thumb drive I was able to copy Nabitor (I hope that is spelled correctly) on to.

2. Started up XP live disk, and then started Nabitor read in device firmware Saved a backup copy just incase and made a few of my own special changes to the one I was going to modify, mostly to the greeting. When the pc starts and the firmware for the hardware says what It is I made mine say some more. (just because I could). Exited Windows.