iAtkos v7 and Vista SP1 Dual Boot using Chameleon

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am new to the boards. I have had great success installing osx86 on my Dell XPS M1530 thanks to all of the detailed guides on these very detailed forums. I am now trying to dual boot Vista and OS X using chameleon. When I try to boot into Vista, I get the error "Failed to start..... File: \Windows\system32\winload.exe"

Here are the steps I took during the install process:

1. Make 2 partitions

2. Install Vista on partition 1

3. Install OSX on partition 2

During the OSX install I selected to also install chameleon v2.

Now my OS X partition works like a charm, cant say the same for Vista. I believe I installed OSX using MBR if that is a help.

I am NOT familiar with OSX or its commands, I am very new to the OSX community, so please, any help given, pretend you are talking to a 6 year old.

Thanks in advance,

Brandon

Hello,

I am new to the boards. I have had great success installing osx86 on my Dell XPS M1530 thanks to all of the detailed guides on these very detailed forums. I am now trying to dual boot Vista and OS X using chameleon. When I try to boot into Vista, I get the error "Failed to start..... File: \Windows\system32\winload.exe"

1. Make 2 partitions

Now my OS X partition works like a charm, cant say the same for Vista. I believe I installed OSX using MBR if that is a help.

I am NOT familiar with OSX or its commands, I am very new to the OSX community, so please, any help given, pretend you are talking to a 6 year old.

Thanks in advance,

Brandon

1. Download the gparted live cd, boot from it, and use it to set your vista partition as active.

2. Boot up from your vista install disc and repair your windows vista installation.

3. Boot up from gparted again and set your mac os x partition as active.

You should now be greeted with the chameleon bootloader when you boot your computer and you can choose between mac os x or windows :)