Mac-OS-X-10.4.7-AMD.Intel-(JaS)-ISO-Repack trouble

3 posts in this topic

Im brand new to vmware and everything in general but i really wanted to get this a go. here is my specs

Dell XPS m1710 notebook

Intel Centrino Duo 1.83

2 Gigs ram

256 nVidia GeForce Go 7900 GS

80 GB Hitachi

Sony DVD+- RW

On with the story I suppose....

I go into vmware, custom freebsd. 2 vitual process. 512 mem. cd as my virtual drive where iso is mounted. try to boot up and got this error

"*** Virtual machine kernel stack fault (hardware reset) *** The virtual machine just suffered a stack fault in kernel mode. On a real computer, this would amount to a reset of the processor. It can be caused by an incorrect configuration of the virtual machine, a bug in the operating system, or a problem in the VMware Workstation software.

read on wiki to change guest type to windows nt. so i did.

after several several tries i got it to boot up using : -v -s switches

that is when i got this error

your virtual machine has sent an ATAPI (CD-ROM) command that is supported only when programming the drive via DMA. you wilil need to configure your guest operating system to use DMA when communicating with DVD/CD-ROM devices.

Note that some operating systems will report DMA is available without actually using it. In those cases, normal CD-ROM operations will stilil be availible, but special features will only be available if you reconfigure the vitual device as a SCSI device

i pressed okay and it let me continue. i then typed in the sh /ect/rc and began installation. i gave 8 Gbs partation for this. i go and earse disk with mac os x extended journaled. then i did this

> fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0

> f 1

> write

> y

> exit