OS X in a ThinkCentre M55 (Hackintosh-noob)

Vahtera

6 posts in this topic

Ello!

A complete part-newbie here. Complete, because this is/will be my first foray into the "Hackintosh Scene", but partly because I'm not a newbie concerning computers in general. I know my way around linux distros, Windowses and Macs. I used to run a mac (exclusively) for years, but that was a long time ago. I still have that Dual-1GHz G4 PowerMac, but let's face it, it IS old. Latest it can do is a 10.5 and being a PPC.. yeah, well, it's not fast :D But the point is, any instructions of info you have does not need to be in a any-fool-can-do-it -format. I do not fear the command line :P

Anyway. My main computers is x64 Win7 machine, but Windows is... well, Windows. I play games on it. :) 

But! I have a secondary machine, a Lenovo/IBM ThinkCentre M55 (C2D E6600 @2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM) with a slew of additional hardware: nVidia GT240 (currently installed),and others that I can swap if it is better: nVidia 8400GS, Radeon 3600Pro and a Radeon 4200 (but installing that would require modifying the cooler) and a couple of HDDs. A few USB sticks, couple of different WiFi USB sticks and a handful of USB audio dongles. The machine currently runs a multiboot selection of ElementaryOS Luna, Haiku R4 and Ubuntu 0414 (on a shared 80Gb disk, with an unused spare 160Gb available).

The "dream" (so to speak) is to have that machine running newest-that-it-can-run Mac OS X as a primary and the possibility to boot into Haiku and some flavor of (Debian-based) linux. 

So you think that would be possible?

I read a couple of "getting started" guides, but I can't follow any of them to the letter. Mostly because most of them are either dead links, or private/removed YouTube videos or some such. The ones that are available rely on the availability of a recent Mac computer.