General Help Requested for a Possible TonyMac Refugee

HazMatt

5 posts in this topic

So I'm basically still brand new to the Hackintosh scene and I'm still in research mode. I was inspired by the TonyMac 'CustoMac Pro' build and have modeled my "Mattintosh" after it. I read a few posts about this site's stance on TonyMac's policies and that, coupled with a bad first impression over there has me interested in alternatives.

I'm going for an inexpensive, powerful, full featured desktop OS X machine that will last me for many years. I value ease-of-use. I find using the command line tedious and not fulfilling. I'm not scared of it necessarily, but I'd rather be using a nicely designed interface. FileMaker is what I love, if any of you know what that is. :wub:

So, if the specs in my link (also below) are all workable and compatible, can anyone give me a general impression of what a non-TonyMac install would be like? Are there any tutorials / guidelines / videos? And if TonyMac is a bad word around here, I can certainly stop using it. :hammer:

Case: Cooler Master Storm Scout II (soon to be released)

PSU: Corsair Professional Series HX650

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH

Processor: Intel 3.5 GHz i7 3770K (Ivy Bridge)

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32 GB

Graphics: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 (or more likely, the built-in Intel HD 4000 if it works fine for my uses)

Boot Drive: OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 240 GB 6G SSD

Well I have decided to go with non-TonyMac Hackintosh methods. Rampage, I checked out your guide and it looks great! I also found some other guides including some on hacksbyalfa.