OS X Installed flawlessly using iPC OSx86 10.5.6 Universal

latabb

1 post in this topic

I am extremely new to OS X and even newer to Hackintosh. I have been a windows user all my life. Mac OS with its complex file/directory structure and UNIX based command system is still quite alien to me. Even so I, with little struggle managed to pull off what many people might consider quite tricky tasks. This is my very fist post on this forum and the purpose is to share my experience of getting my Hackintosh to work the way I wanted so that others might benefit in case their hardware and specific requirements happen to match mine.

In this post I shall talk about 1) My hardware 2) Brief background 3) My requirements - what I wanted to accomplish 4) What I did and where I found help.

I would like to remind that I am not technical at all when it comes to OS X.

HARDWARE

Processor: Intel Core2 Duo 2.33 GHz

Motherboard: Intel DG43NB

Audio: Motherboard built-in

Ethernet: Motherboard built-in

RAM: 4 GB

Display Card: EVGA Nvidia 9500 GT (I use DVi output)

Monitor: ViewSonic LED 22” 1920 x 1080p

Storage:

Three Western Digital SATA hard disks 500 GB each

One Western Digital USB external hard disk 500 GB

One Samsung SATA DVD Writer

BRIEF BACKGROUND

On one of the three SATA hard disks I have Windows 7 64 bit up and running. This hard disk has three NTFS partitions which hold my operating system, installed software and all my data. For the purpose of this post we shall call it disk 1.

The second disk is used for storage of large media files, such as music, songs, movies, etc. I access this disk very often. This disk has only one NTFS partition. For the purpose of this post we shall call it disk 2

The third disk is dedicated just for MAC OS X. In fact it was bought last year especially for this purpose since I did not want to risk ruining my data and existing windows installation. This disk has two MAC partitions. For the purpose of this post we shall call it disk 3.