Optimal Mid-Range CS5 and Gaming Build for Late 2010/ Early 2011

PDXgeek

12 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm new to Hackintosh but somewhat familiar with building PC's. However, I have not built a PC in 4 years so my hardware knowledge is useless.

I'd like to build a system that will be used for a couple things primarily(in order of priority):

- Photo editing/ visual design (CS5)

- Gaming - mostly scifi MMOs(SWG, SWTOR, EVE, etc.) since I tend to play other genres on Xbox

- AutoCAD/ Revit/ 3D Rendering

BIG QUESTION: Why do video editors, 3-D artists, gamers, etc. command different system specs? What parts of a system are emphasized for different use cases? Hoping someone can shed some light on this for me.

COST: I would like to minimize cost as much as possible(< $1000) but definitely want a machine that can max out graphic settings in certain games(mostly MMO), possibly on multiple(3) displays. I believe that buying in the mid-range price/performance sweet spot is best since tech advances so quickly and prices drop so rapidly on high-end components.

LIFESPAN: I would like to go with newer technologies if possible(SATA II, DDR3, USB3) to maximize lifespan, but appreciate any advice.

----------------------------

CPU: Leaning towards i7 920 because that seems to be the current price/performance sweet spot. I would like to overclock, but not immediately. Not until I'm up and running and more knowledgable.

MOBO: I'm at a loss here, and the options are dizzying. Is there a master spreadhseet of Hackintosh-compatible boards with feature comparisons?

GPU: Obviously looking for the ultimate price/performance sweet spot for late 2010, early 2011. Not apposed to a dual card setup per se, but single seems simpler. Open to either NVIDIA or ATI to find that sweet spot. ATI has the multiple monitor crown for now, but sounds like NVIDIA has their own solution on deck soon.