Latitude D620 Install Guide

Dombo

6 posts in this topic

Ok now dont be too harsh this is my first time touching any sort of Mac OS. So I have a Dell Latitude D620 and I wanted to put OS X on it because I do some intensive Web Design. So I currently have a fully functional OS X install on my Latitude which has a Sigmatel 9200, Wireless RTL8187SE, Display Intel 945GM.

These are the steps I followed.

I hope I help

Installing Mac OS X on non-apple hardware is quite a challenge and has been nicknamed the ‘hackint0sh’. The largest supplier of computers in the world, Dell ships a model of laptop called the Latitude D620. I am lucky enough to own one of these machines and I most certainly love it. However converting the D620 into a full blown Hackint0sh with full device functionality is quite a challenge. So I decided to write a guide instructing you how.

The first process is getting a basic install of OS X on your Dell Latitude. I personally used Leo4Allv3 to install because I had heard the best news about that particular image. So here is a step-by-step guide on installation to HDD with Leo4Allv3 including how to burn the Image to a DVD.

• Extract the .rar named V3-Final.Part01.rar, this will in turn extract all the part files into one .iso.
  • Burn the .iso to a DVD-R at the slowest speed possible.
  • Insert the DVD-R into the machine you wish to install OS X onto.
  • Boot from the DVD into OS X. If you get an error saying SAM Multimedia: Read or Write failed then you need to re-burn the image and make sure the disc is completely clean.
  • Once you have booted up agree to all the licensing jazz and open up the Disk Utility from the Utilities drop down menu.
  • Right click on your HDD and hit ‘Erase’ then select form the drop down Mac OS Extended (Journaled) then change the ‘name’ to ‘Leopard’ then hit erase.
  • Quit the disk utility and proceed to select your hard drive from the installer.
  • Hit install and let it run through then reboot.