Jump to content

ATI X1950 PRO AGP ON LEOPARD KALYWAY 10.5.2 INTEL/AMD


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
lyon25

lyon25

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi all.
1ș- Sorry For My bad English, I'm Portuguese.

I run Leopard Kalyway 10.5.2 (9c7010)

I see all pág of
Bronya, JJcool, posts, days and days ... and i try diferent ways to get my graphic card work, without results... many kernel panics
Some users say they get the same graphic card work but dont say how they do it.
If some one can help me making it work i apreciate , its the only important thing that is missing on my Mac..
The following table shows my hardware configuration, Motherboard, CPU and Graphic card.


HARDWARE

[ AGP 8x: ATI Radeon X1950 Pro (RV570) ] SAPPHIRE

Graphics Processor Properties:
Video Adapter ATI Radeon X1950 Pro (RV570)
BIOS Version 009.013.001.027.021755
GPU Code Name RV570
PCI Device 1002-7280 / 174B-E250
Transistors 330 million
Process Technology 80 nm
Die Size 230 mm2
Bus Type AGP 8x @ 8x
Memory Size 512 MB
GPU Clock 580 MHz (original: 581 MHz)
RAMDAC Clock 400 MHz
Pixel Pipelines 12
TMU Per Pipeline 1
Vertex Shaders 8 (v3.0)
Pixel Shaders 36 (v3.0)
DirectX Hardware Support DirectX v9.0c
Pixel Fillrate 6960 MPixel/s
Texel Fillrate 6960 MTexel/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type GDDR3
Bus Width 256-bit
Real Clock 702 MHz (DDR) (original: 702 MHz)
Effective Clock 1404 MHz
Bandwidth 43.9 GB/s




ATI GPU Registers:
ati-00E0 00010100
ati-00F8 20000000
ati-0140 00000000
ati-0144 00000000
ati-0148 00000000
ati-0154 00000000
ati-0158 00000000
ati-0178 00000000
ati-01C0 0FFF0000
ati-4018 0140001D
ati-CLKIND-00 2100156C
ati-CLKIND-04 250019E4
ati-CLKIND-0A 00010017
ati-CLKIND-0B 100FAC1F
ati-CLKIND-0C 44221100
ati-CLKIND-0D 00073071
ati-CLKIND-0E 00000000
ati-CLKIND-0F 0F3FF01F
ati-CLKIND-12 0F3FF50A
ati-MCIND-000005 00000000
ati-MCIND-00002D 00000000
ati-MCIND-00002E 00000000
ati-MCIND-000031 00000000
ati-MCIND-200008 83004412
ati-MCIND-FF0061 1F8528E7
ati-MCIND-FF0062 090A50C0
ati-MCIND-FF0063 62791219

[ ATI CrossFire ]

ATI CrossFire:
CrossFire Status Not Supported




Posted Image
By lyon25

Motherboard Name Asus : P4P800-E Deluxe
CPU Type : Intel Pentium 4, 3200 MHz (16 x 200) Prescott
Instruction Set : x86, MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3


#2
MTZeon

MTZeon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
hi there, i'm also portuguese and been chasing for a solution for our AGP cards but none of them work... I've even tried to get a working EFI string but they don't work because I've updated the OpenGL and drivers to 10.5.5 and I can't revert unless I install MacOS all over again. In case you find a solition let me know!

#3
lyon25

lyon25

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

hi there, i'm also portuguese and been chasing for a solution for our AGP cards but none of them work... I've even tried to get a working EFI string but they don't work because I've updated the OpenGL and drivers to 10.5.5 and I can't revert unless I install MacOS all over again. In case you find a solition let me know!


oK MTZeon, but i think we have a big problem with this video card AGP :P
Thanks for the feedback...

#4
Dan Druff

Dan Druff

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind the keyboard!
I don't know if it will work but i would be worth a try. I use a method to get AGP working under Leopard 10.5.4 that works almost flawlessly (no sleep). I use vanilla kext exept the one described below. You will have to modify info.plist from a kext but in the end it should be OK. Natit injector is patched for auto detect, so you will only have to modify the ATIRadeonX1000 kext. Use Property List Editor to edit you plist, it's amazingly easy.

Here are my kext info:

Video (mix of ideas from dm_webd and cyclonefr, look here for later method)
AGPGart -> 2.7.1 with AGP_HOST: 0xf0000000
Natit -> with dual x1600 info.plist, all from DM_webd method look here
ATIRadeonX1000 -> vanilla with 71C2 key added
IONDRVSupport -> Vanilla 1.4.3 (from 10.4.7 combo update kexts)

Rest is vanilla 10.5.4

#5
MTZeon

MTZeon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal

I don't know if it will work but i would be worth a try. I use a method to get AGP working under Leopard 10.5.4 that works almost flawlessly (no sleep). I use vanilla kext exept the one described below. You will have to modify info.plist from a kext but in the end it should be OK. Natit injector is patched for auto detect, so you will only have to modify the ATIRadeonX1000 kext. Use Property List Editor to edit you plist, it's amazingly easy.

Here are my kext info:

Video (mix of ideas from dm_webd and cyclonefr, look here for later method)
AGPGart -> 2.7.1 with AGP_HOST: 0xf0000000
Natit -> with dual x1600 info.plist, all from DM_webd method look here
ATIRadeonX1000 -> vanilla with 71C2 key added
IONDRVSupport -> Vanilla 1.4.3 (from 10.4.7 combo update kexts)

Rest is vanilla 10.5.4


I think my problem is the kernel I used to install iATKOS v4i... i used ToH kernel, maybe that's what is wrong. I see that you have vanilla 10.5.4 kernel installed on the same motherboard I have. Care to share how you managed to get it to install ?? ;)

#6
lyon25

lyon25

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

I don't know if it will work but i would be worth a try. I use a method to get AGP working under Leopard 10.5.4 that works almost flawlessly (no sleep). I use vanilla kext exept the one described below. You will have to modify info.plist from a kext but in the end it should be OK. Natit injector is patched for auto detect, so you will only have to modify the ATIRadeonX1000 kext. Use Property List Editor to edit you plist, it's amazingly easy.

Here are my kext info:

Video (mix of ideas from dm_webd and cyclonefr, look here for later method)
AGPGart -> 2.7.1 with AGP_HOST: 0xf0000000
Natit -> with dual x1600 info.plist, all from DM_webd method look here
ATIRadeonX1000 -> vanilla with 71C2 key added
IONDRVSupport -> Vanilla 1.4.3 (from 10.4.7 combo update kexts)

Rest is vanilla 10.5.4

Thanks Dan, but dont work for x1950 pro agp (in my system) blue sreen... :(

#7
Dan Druff

Dan Druff

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind the keyboard!
Hi MTZeon,

You must have two bootable drive for OSX (doesn't matter if it's 10.4 or 10.5 for the install)

You will install from one drive (your backup drive) to another (your main drive). I think it's best like that because if something goes wrong, you can always use your backup.
Also, I use Grub from Ubuntu to select my booting drive, info on Grub is available on Ubuntu (I have quadri boot machine WinXP/Ubuntu/10.5.2/10.5.5 splitted on three HDD).

For your main question, I use envying method of install (see my signature) with modifications:

1. Prepare your main drive and install PC_EFI (see netkas.org to get EFI emulation)

a. Place PC_EFI_v80 folder on your destop

b. Create your main drive with disk utility (select GUID) (you could add a Ubuntu disk on the same HDD to install PC_EFI_v8 within Grub on this disk, this disk would be invisible to OSX and let PC_EFI_v8 boot without modification, BTW you can't use Grub on HFS disks)

c. Go in terminal and type "diskutil list" to get your drive nuber in the scheme diskXsY, keep terminal open.

d. Unmount your entire HDD "diskX" within disk utility

e. Do those commands within terminal, replace XXX with the exact user name and X and Y with info gotten from "diskutil list" command

sudo -s
*password*
cd /Users/XXX/Desktop/pc_efi_v80
./startupfiletool /dev/rdiskXsY ./boot_v8
dd if=./guid/boot1h of=/dev/rdiskXsY bs=512 count=1
*at this point make sure all partitions are unmounted*
dd if=./guid/boot0 of=/dev/diskX bs=400 count=1

f. Reboot from the GUID drive you've just created, the boot loader should say "com.apple.boot.plist not found", it will indicate that PC_EFI is installed

2. Use pacifist to install 10.5 from your backup drive, right after, update to 10.5.5, again with pacifist.

You will have to use a script that I provide with some files:

http://www.mediafire.com/?2bb9ljgj0nt

First use the Vanilla-backup.sh script, it will save your vanilla files, you could then test other setting later without reinstalling by using vanilla-restore.sh.
Then use replace-kext.sh script to replace necessary kexts to make the P5PE-VM functionnal (audio, networking, ATA, etc.)

Don't forget to edit the three .sh to point to your Leopard drive, info are included in the .sh

Thanks Dan, but dont work for x1950 pro agp (in my system) blue sreen... ;)


Did you use a 10.4.8 (or earlier) IONDRVSupport? This is the problem I encounter when my IONDRVSupport isn't the right.

[EDIT] Typo

#8
Alex HQuest

Alex HQuest

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
I found myself having a dozen issues with my originally bought as GeXCube X1950Pro AGP card, until I flashed its bios as a Powercolor one -- got it from techPowerUp.com.

Now, when I need to reinstall my Kaly, this is what I do -- in fact, did it just last night:

Thrown 10.5.1 DVD in, do a standard install always using EFI and GUID -- NO MBR. Reboot and install Bronya's drivers. Reboot.
Update to 10.5.2 and update video drivers again to 10.5.2. Reboot.
Update to 10.5.3, and update video drivers also to 10.5.3. Reboot.
Update to 10.5.4. No need to change video drivers. Reboot.
Update to 10.5.5, reinstall 10.5.2 video drivers, reinstall 10.5.3 video drivers. Reboot.

Got QE/CI working on 10.5.5.

HTH.

#9
lyon25

lyon25

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Did you use a 10.4.8 (or earlier) IONDRVSupport? This is the problem I encounter when my IONDRVSupport isn't the right.

Hi Dan, Yes, and the system crash again, i make today a new instalation of Kalyway 10.5.2 .
If you have other way to make this work, please let me know.
Thanks.

I found myself having a dozen issues with my originally bought as GeXCube X1950Pro AGP card, until I flashed its bios as a Powercolor one -- got it from techPowerUp.com.

Hi Alex, I dont find the bios for (powercolor) X1950Pro AGP card 512 MB in techPowerUp.com.
I want to test your way to get this work.
Thanks all for the help.

#10
MTZeon

MTZeon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
Broynia has updated his drivers for 10.5.5, maybe we should give a spin and see if it works. I still need to install MacOS all over again (trying to get the vanilla kernel going) ;)

#11
Dan Druff

Dan Druff

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind the keyboard!
MTZeon, lyon25,

Do you have two OSX drives? I see you need to reinstall quite often, if you can use two drive (a main on which you NEVER test and a backup system where you test) you could only have to save (on your testing drive) kernel, kexts and plist in their vanilla state and restore them if you need to test a new setup. It's quite easy (with the script I provided in post #7) and for me it takes less than 1 minute to restore system to it's vanilla state. And for modifications, I use another script, this way it's fast and reproductible (no forgetting of which kext I used) and I don't get confused with too much kext to replace.

It could save your precious time.

This way you will need to choose your OS at boot time. You could use the windoze or darwin boot loader, but to dual/tri/quadri boot the easiest way is to use a boot loader like Grub. You can get it on Ubuntu Live CD and install it on your Windoze or Linux drive in less than 5 minutes (boot time included!). Look on the internet for info, Grub is quite common, but the best (but longer) way to install it is to install it with Ubuntu (which is quite a good OS). Be cautious with Windoze, any reinstall will destroy Grub on the HDD where Windoze is installed.

#12
MTZeon

MTZeon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
Finally I made it work :)

http://forum.insanel...o...id=899251

See if that helps Lyon ;)

#13
lyon25

lyon25

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Hi Dan, i have 2 drives, i use 1 with Time Machine (litle drive 10 GB) LOL.
I think your solution is better, with 2 OSx, its more easy (fast), to make experiences.
Thanks.


Nice jobe MTZeon, thanks...thanks in portuguese (Obrigado). lol
Thanks Bronya, Dan, Alex... everybody for make this works...
I love Mac. :)







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy