[SOLVED] Arch,Debian,XP,OSX w/ Grub2?

2 posts in this topic

Hello

I've been trying to get this working for days, googling around and trial-and-error to no avail. So before I kidnap a baby and punt it out the window of a very tall hospital, I figured it's time to ask for help.

Btw, if I've confused a term or done something stupid or overlooked a topic with the correct answer, please tell me. I'm very new at the osx scene, and have tried quite a few things and done a lot of searching to get this to work without the annoyance of screwing with the bios or typing in a command -every time- i want to reboot into osx. Some people say that it just won't work on grub2, others say they've managed it. I don't know, but I've gotten it to get very close (see notes)..

Setup & Problems:

MOBO: P4S800D-X

PROC: 3.2 Ghz P4 SC

HD1: Maxtor

* SATA (160g)

* Grub2 MBR

* Contains Windows XP, Arch Linux, Debian Linux, swap, /home

* Due to SiS 655Fx chipset, this cannot be read, apparently, in OSX. Annoying, but fine.

HD2: Seagate

* IDE (40g)

* MBR installation (iirc)

* Contains iPC leopard 10.5.6 (iirc again) and an ext3 partition with boot_v8

GRUB2 Relevant Parts:

#Entry 6 - OSX Leopard

menuentry "OSX" {

set root=(hd1,2)

#chainloader /usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi

multiboot /boot/boot_v8

}

NOTES:

1) I can't/won't dump grub2 for legacy or another boot loader.

* It would be a disheartening pain with everything I have set up and the work i've done below.

* http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=56576

2) I can't install it on the sata drive. Not enough space and osx wont pick it up.

3) If I switch the hard drive BIOS order so the OSX drive boots, it works and boots fine.

4) If I use the boot_v8 deal, it DOES get to chameleon.

* ...however, after the timer ends, my pc abruptly reboots prior to the aple loading screen. :) /grumble

5) I can't seem to get any manner of chainloader lines to work, as commented in the grub2 piece.