Leopard on an old P4

Ferpa

10 posts in this topic

Hi guys...

I have some experience, so lets get right into the point...

Its a Toshiba A25-S279

This laptop have a Pentium 4 2.8 fsb 533mhz, SSE2, no HT...

I don't know why, but this lap has a desktop processor... a really bad one by the way... but, till I get me macbook pro, it's what I have...

it has 512 of ram... 40gb of hd...

I have kalyway's 10.5.1 release...

When I try to boot the instalation, the computer just reboots at some point (when it ends to load the kexts)

i have tried every single boot option =)

-v, -x, -f, cpus=1, -legacy, etc...

alone and combined...

I just can load the damn install!

What can I do???

Hope you help me guys...

Maybe later, if it interest to anyone, i may publish a tutorial to install MacOSX (any dsitro; i used kalyway) w/o using DVDs...

economical... but the real deal is that theres a lot of people like me, that have a fully compatible P35/C2D desktop, but cant install due the jmicron ata-DVDRom bug... u'll need 2 HDs (SATA or PATA, doesnt matther) (maybe you can do it with one... but i didnt had the expertise to do it)... I used a flat-img and kalyway... !!NO VMWARE!!

soooo help me if you can.... ;)

and hype my tutorial if youre interested!

I too have this problem. I got 10.5.1 Kalyway to install on my old inspiron 1200 with a celeron, but I can't get 10.5.1 or 10.5.2 to even finish booting the install dvd on my p4 2.66ghz desktop. Which sucks, because after running OSX on my laptop, I really want it on my main pc.

it didnt boot tiger too...

and theres a lot of people that use leo on their p4s...

now, after analyzing the specs of my laptop more carefully, i presume its my "video card"...

have you ever heard of cyberalladin???

me neither...

but it should run as generic...

well... dont make a lot of sense... but its my best bet...

now im burning kaly's 10.5.2 release...

crossing fingers...