Dell GX270 - recommendations for a fresh install

Baldrick45

4 posts in this topic

Ok Guys (and Gals)

I'm a Winblows savvy user with experience of installing/running several custom XP distro's. I've hacked a few Thin clients to get them to run XP too and fought my way through the hardware issues that threw up but I have no real OSX or Linux experience and I want to remedy that sinful omission now.

I have been given an old Dell GX270N 2.8Ghz P4, 1 Gig Ram, 30 Gig HD DVD-ROM, integrated graphics, AC97 sound, and built-in ethernet. CPU-z reports that whatever P4 variant I have it is single core but does support SSE3.

I rather ambitiously DL'd Kalyway's 10.5.1 distro and tried to jump straight in to re-format the HD. After an EBIOS error, I eventually got to the opening screen showing our friend's breakdancer, but the graphics were badly corrupted (like when winblows can only run in 4 colour VGA) to the point where I could not even read the Disk Utility option screens well enough to proceed.

So humble pie eaten, I now ask for your forebearance and advice. I don't need to run Leopard, I need a fairly straightforward install which picks up on most of my hardware and allows me to start learning. Tiger will be more than enough for me.

So then, any Guru's fought the fight with an older Dell and emerged sane and able to recommend a starting point for me?

Even pointers to relevant threads would be welcome (and yes I have already searched on osx86 and here). Most existing threads are dealing with resolving specific hardware issues once you have a working OSX install

So please... be kind... You too were once a young Padwan!

Hi Baldrick:

I've installed OSx86 on several Dell Machines including Dell Inspiron 1300, Optiplex 170L and Optiplex GX-260. I'm not sure how different the GX-260 is from GX-270 but they should be similar.