Native Darwin

Guz

3 posts in this topic

Ok, I'm a newbie here, but have read/searched for all that I could find.

But, I am trying to install Darwin natively on a dedicated hard drive (no VMWare, I've tried, it doesn't work). I just want to play around with it, no more, no less. I have searched Apple and OpenDarwin without much sucess for a decent hardware compatability list.

So, does anyone know or can point me to some good online sources for Darwin installation, configuration, etc. (preferably non subscription sites)?

OpenDarwin's web site is basicly dead, not much information has changed for about 2 years (they took away the (Open)Darwin Hardware List page). Apple's site is mainly dedicated to PPC platform. Neither have good discussion forums (Apple is mainly listsrv orientated).

I have a Shuttle ST62K (Zen) system, btw. 512mb RAM, Sony DVD RW, and a 20 gig ATA hard drive, PS2 keyboard/mouse. When I boot the Darwin CD, it hangs when to choose the harddrive to install on. The keyboard is completely locked up (can't even change CAPS lock, or Num lock). (Or just tell me that this system just isn't going to work, no matter what).

Suggestions?

• 3 months later...
Ok, I'm a newbie here, but have read/searched for all that I could find.

But, I am trying to install Darwin natively on a dedicated hard drive (no VMWare, I've tried, it doesn't work). I just want to play around with it, no more, no less. I have searched Apple and OpenDarwin without much sucess for a decent hardware compatability list.

So, does anyone know or can point me to some good online sources for Darwin installation, configuration, etc. (preferably non subscription sites)?

OpenDarwin's web site is basicly dead, not much information has changed for about 2 years (they took away the (Open)Darwin Hardware List page). Apple's site is mainly dedicated to PPC platform. Neither have good discussion forums (Apple is mainly listsrv orientated).