ATI RS400/200 Motherboard Chipset

5 posts in this topic

Has anyone got any version of Mac OS working on these chipsets? I am trying to get Leopard installed but it's nearly next to impossible. I have some information to share as I have been researching about them, but I am new to this so I hope there is someone more experienced who can help us out.

Ok first I was able to boot into the Kalyway DVD. This image actually recognized my SATA HD which is a Seagate Barracuda variant I believe. I was able to properly format my partition in the a journaled one. The problem with the Kalyway DVD is that it always hangs on the install, it never gets past say 15%.

Now the iATKOS DVD with PPF2 R2 boots nicely, it is much faster than the Kalyway image but it does not recognize my SATA HD. I believe this has something to do with the ATI chipsets.

Now if iATKOS works so smooth, it may have a chance of actually installing. The question is how to we merge the functionality of the two images? The ability to read SATA HD's on the ATI RS400/200 chipset from Kalyway needs to be somehow implemented into the iATKOS image.

Would this just be transferring a series of Kexts? I am not sure, maybe someone can help me. ;) Note: I'll be trying the ToH DVD next.

Some of my computer information.

----- [Motherboard] ------------------------------------------------------------

Property				   Value
Manufacturer			   Intel Corporation
Model					  D101GGC
Version					AAD35788-305
Serial Number			  BTGC61102T9C

Chipset Vendor			 ATI Technologies Inc
Chipset Model			  RS400/200 Host Bridge
South Bridge			   IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge

CPU						Intel Pentium D
Cpu Socket				 LGA775 [Socket 775]
Processor Upgrade		  ZIF Socket
Max CPU Speed			  3800 MHz

System Slots			   2 PCI

Memory Summary			 
Location				   System board or motherboard
Maximum Capacity		   1024 MBytes
Memory Slots			   2
Error Correction		   None
Use						System memory
Maximum Memory Module Size 32 MBytes