Problem dual booting- won't let me boot

Skwizgar811

1 post in this topic

I'm new to this so I don't know too much about it, but I'll explain the scenario and any help would be appreciated...

I'm working on a Dell E1505-Intel Core duo 1.6ghz-Radeon Mobility x1400

I wiped it and made a winxp partition first, saving the other half of the harddrive to format for ToH RC2.

I formatted that partition as a Fat32/ShagOS, then when the installer came up, used disk utilities to put it in OS Journaled.

Successfully INSTALLED and patched, which is as far as I got.

I tried using Acronis to locate the OS so I could boot, doesn't work, it tells me there's no OS on the partition...

I tried booting from the DVD as another forum described and it just brings me to the installer.

I attempted to do a fix from another post which I'll describe here :

If you have problems booting into leopard without the DVD in, follow directions below:

Somehow, The Leopard Installation process does no make the partition bootable. You need to do this yourself (working on a fix). Within Leopard:

Open DiskUtils (applications > Utilities)

Click on the Leopard Partition and click Info

Write down what disk it is: diskXsx (example Disk0s1)

Close DiskUtils

· Open up terminal. This is what you do (quoted text is what terminal will show after the commands you enter):

sudo cp /Volumes/PATCHER/files/i386/boot1h /usr/standalone/i386/ (replace if prompted)

sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdiskX ( replace X and x with the disk/partition you wrote down above)'

fdisk: 1> update

'Machine code updated.'

fdisk:*1> f 1

'Partition 1 marked active.'

fdisk:*1> w

'Device could not be accessed exclusively.'

A reboot will be needed for changes to take effect. OK? [n] y

'Writing MBR at offset 0.'

fdisk: 1> q

Reboot computer again with DVD.. boot the DVD.

After welcome and Language.. from Utilites

Open DiskUtils

Click on the Leopard Partition and click Info