Firefox went missing

digilink

5 posts in this topic

Ok, I'm new to Mac, but not new to computers. I have plenty of Windows and *NIX experience. Maybe someone can help me out, I'm suffering from what appears to be a serious PEBKAC.

I bought a new Macbook running Leopard and I've spent the last few days trying to learn the Macintosh way of doing things. The one button mouse is about to drive me crazy, and many of the keyboard shortcuts I'm used to are performed differently or just aren't present at all.

I downloaded Firefox and Thunderbird, my email and browser client of choice. Apple email was not very intuitive to me and Safari is good, but I still prefer Firefox. Being excited that there was a native OSX install available, I immediately downloaded this "dmg" thing.

Here's where I'm a little lost. Why in the world do they package things this way!!!????? As I understand it, when you "install" something from the dmg file, you are supposed to then drag it to the applications folder!!??? That is crazy! Anyhow, I rebooted my Macbook this morning and Firefox was nowhere to be found. Not in the apps folder, not on the desktop, not in the bar. I searched for it using spotlight and found the original dmg file that was used to install it (I never deleted it off the desktop, yet it was missing when I rebooted) and went through the install process again.

It put the Firefox icon in the bar and I was able to launch it as normal.

What am I doing wrong? Perhaps I just don't understand the Mac way of application/system management, anyone have a good tutorial for me to follow? Thunderbird is missing as well :(

EDIT:

Good god.... I just figured this out. That make this so insanely easy that it's stupid. I had to drag the firefox logo into my applications folder from the disk image.