Who is using a firewire based interface?

trance4jim

30 posts in this topic

I'm interested in building a hackintosh for the price/power.

I've built pc's before and modified xboxes.This seems interesting.

I'm still very new to the mac scene.I own a intel imac.2gb max ram though.

The problem=

I still can't find anyone with a m-audio firewire device on osx86.

I own the Ozonic and need to be able to use this on the new system.

I need to choose a mobo with 1394 and must be 45nm ready.

Most importantly must be stable.

I plan on using Reason 4, Protools M-Powered and maybe Logic 8.

Any suggestions or input on

using firewire interfaces with osx86???

:wacko:

I responded to your other post as well. My firewire works fine on both of my machines (see specs below). I have an Ozonic and a Mackie 16 channel Onyx/firewire mixer. Although I have not recorded with either of them, out put has been without issue. I added a firewire card to my desktop and it was one that was listed on the Digidesign website as being compatible. I am not at my desktop now, but I am pretty sure it is a Siig PCI 400. It has 3 ports on it and all three work fine and I had to do no moding to get them to work. I also hook my two firewire external hard drives to those ports and they seem to not have a problem. Sorry no info about recording, but I am pretty sure if you can put together a machine with decent compatible hardware, you would be fine.

I use a Presonus Firebox that works great in OS X with Logic 8 Studio. Its small and portable so its perfect for me in that I can use it on my desktop at home or take it on the road with my laptop, the Firepod is probably a better value if portability is not a concern for you.

Thanks everyone! I really do appreciate the input.I think I'm ready to make the jump.

I currently have a imac 17" 2.0ghz cd2 with 1gb ram.Its limited to 2gb so thats why I plan on

upgrading.I will fund this buy selling my imac.