OSX won't detect hard drive on install (or in disk utility)

str33t_addikt

14 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I'm very new to this stuff and there's probably an answer on this forum already for what I'm going to ask but I've been searching for a couple days now with no success so I've given up and decided to do the noob thing and post so the answer can come to me...

My hard drive isn't being detected by OSX (Tiger 10.4.10) and I've tried several combinations of formatting the HD to FAT32, HFS+, even tried Unallocated, tried every option under both GUID and MBR, etc etc... I know most people are suggesting formatting it as HFS+ under GUID, and no luck. My computer specs are as follows....

Both hard drives are SATA, my vista drive is a 500gb Seagate, and the one I'm trying to install OSX on is an 80gb Samsung.

Asus Striker Extreme Motherboard

2GB (1GB x 2 sticks) Transend PCS5400 667Mhz ram

ATI Radeon HD 2400XT video card

Intel E6750 2.67Ghz Duo Core processor

Is there a hardware conflict...something I'm not doing right or something I'm missing...Or am I just too tired and dumb to see there's an obvious solution here?

I've read people have been suggesting swapping for an IDE drive, but there has to be people having success with SATA drives...so I don't think that's the problem (though I could very well be wrong)

I apologize to all of those who have answered this question again and again to people such as myself, but I greatly appreciate any/all suggestions and help.

I've tried two seperate disks so far...The first one didn't even get to the Darwin bootloader, and now this second one gets me to the install menu but when I get to choosing which drive to install osx on to, I have no luck...I'll try another version and see if that works for me. Thanks for your help.