Dell Precision v. Mac Pro

14 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I am new to this Mac Forum (best I've seen by far). I am also new to the MAC computer. I have been a Dell PC person all my life and my hobby is being a website developer/photographer/cinematographer etc. As I am beginning to learn about more advanced technologies, I am seeking to upgrade from my old Dell laptop to a Desktop PC (Dell Precision) or a MAC Pro. I have been learning about several types of software, I am particularly enamored of the new Adobe CS3 Master Collection. However, I also like some of Apple's offerings, in particular the Final Cut Studio 2, Logic Pro and Pro Tools by Digidesign.

I would like a computer that can easily edit/render HD video for posting to websites/DVDs as well as one that can handle sophisticated sound tracks and music programs/PCI Express card space such as those associated with Pro Tools. I think I would like to purchase a MAC. However, I know nothing about these computers, only that, no matter who I ask they all love their MAC, ALL OF THEM! (This never happens with a PC.) Although my experience has never been bad with PCs, I have had the occasional crashes, hiccups and things that seem to haunt my computer from time to time even though I try to take the best of care with them. I also observe the fact that my local college that teaches (through its extended learning program) all of Adobe's software, teaches those softwares on Mac Pro's.

A seemingly big plus for MAC Pros is that with the 64-bit Tiger OS and with Bootcamp I can run Windows XP SP2 or Tiger on the same computer. However, I would try to limit running Windows, except when I need to run Internet Explorer (some sites like Vista Print only allow online ordering using Internet Explorer for some of its online ordering features). As my job involves heavy use of Excel/Word/Powerpoint, I see Apple has me covered by offering a fully compatible MAC version of Office 2004, fantastic!